Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Drew Olds
United States
OREM
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There was a discussion in another thread about what the significance of Kingdom Death: Monster is.

Does it make a difference that the game is the highest funded game? Does it matter that it did not get the most backers?

Is Kingdom Death an industry game changer? Is it an anomaly? Is it insignificant in the overall world of Board Games?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klutz
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am a "certified" art critic.
badge
I am a professional BGG commenter.
mbmbmbmbmb

Short answer:
Kingdom Death: Monster is a good game, that many people enjoy.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sam newman

doncaster
south yorkshire
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I think there will be other games that copy KDM's gameplay to some extent, be it the survival style genre of leading survivors through increasingly more difficult hunts, gathering resources and developing your civilization and settlement or taking its approach to AI and implementing it in other games. KDM has had an effect on the industry. It certainly emphasises the fact that a game even one as dark and niche as KDM can become a big Kickstarter hit.

Its a success story about 1 man and his vision. Starting out with nothing and striving to deliver above and beyond what the backers expected. Originally backers were expecting the game to come in a box half the size that originally did. Not only that but backers received more than they expected to with almost 2x the number of cards, terrain and gear.

Complex board games like KDM however feel to me like they would work better as a computer game than a board game. This cuts out all the book keeping etc. I think an indie KDM computer game would be a big success story as well similarly to darkest dungeon or FTL.