Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
40 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Solo Conquest -- Tovak -- Lost Legion Expansion (minus Volkare) Included rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
al cann
United States
warwick
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have always wanted to chronicle a play of one of my games, so I chose Mage Knight. I am a newbie, but I believe I have picked up this game fairly quickly over the 10 or so plays I have attempted so far. If anyone actually reads this, please feel free to criticize or offer suggestions and let me know if this is useful to anyone.

Thanks!

Solo Conquest – Tovak
Dummy Player – Norowas

Using the Lost Legion expansion, the updated cards, but not General Volkare.

ROUND 1 (Day), TURN 1.

Opening Draw: Crystallize, Instinct, Rage, March, Cold Toughness
Source: Green, Blue, Red.

STRATEGY: It would be nice to move toward the ancient ruins and keep but I don’t think I have enough to take on so much right off the bat. I decided to take the Planning tactic to have 6 cards in my hand rather than taking the often used Great Start tactic. Unfortunately, the Dummy took Great Start so that tactic is lost to me for this game. Ultimately, I think my best bet is to move toward the marauding orc (an orc tracker) despite the hindering terrain that it is in, the swamp.

MOVE: Power up March with green mana from the source and use Instinct to move 6 and get through two forests and adjacent to the orc tracker.

ANALYSIS: At first, I wanted to save Instinct for something better, but I wanted to slog through the dense terrain as quickly as possible and take advantage of the Planning tactic. I am giving up recruiting or plundering the village because, being in the swamp, it is just too difficult to get there.

Dummy player drew 4 cards.

ROUND 1, TURN 2.

Opening hand: Tranquility, Threaten, Rage, Cold Toughness, Crystallize.
Source: 2x red, blue.