GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,487 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Roads & Boats» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mine Help Needed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
X X

Some
msg tools
I am totally new to this game but I thought I would try it so I purchased the game and add-on.

Would someone be so kind as to walk me though how mines are intended to work in this game?

I have read and reread the rules but I still have not quite understood the rules regarding mines.

I need complete help here. So, from selecting a mine (how do you know which one to choose?), why do they have to go in those little bags (is there another way to not use the bags?), using a mine, re-supplying a mine, etc, would someone tell me how and why they work the way they do?

Is there a complete FAQ for this game?

Thank you for the help.

Faithful

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Webb
United States
Western Mitten
flag msg tools
designer
badge
GET A SILK BAG FROM THE GRAVEYARD DUCK TO LIVE LONGER.
mbmbmbmbmb
The mines are simply intended to be a minor random element in the game.

I don't have the rules sitting in front of me, but the way they work is simple:

1) Choose any mine you want, the number doesn't matter.

2) Grab the little baggie with that mine's number on it

3) Load the baggie with the proper mix of material (I think it's a 3/3 split base, but then technology advances can allow you to alter the mix).

4) You're ready to go.

Each round, the mine belches out 1 piece of material at random from the bag.

The idea is fairly straight-forward, you know that such and such is in the mine, but you're not sure exactly what order it's going to come out in. That's why the specialty mine advance can be useful, you can guarantee heavy concentrations of certain material.