Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Explosions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gabor Ironat
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Hello guys, i have some questions regarding the explosions, i hope you can help me.

How does the shockwave affects the buildings?

I have been damaging the walls and doors that are next to the explosion, but the ones that are farther away, for example:



D: Door
| and - : walls
E: Explosin
F: Fire
/: Damaged Wall
*: Damaged Door



|-/-----------|
|.F.......|...|
/FEFF.F...D...|
|.F.......|...|
|-/-----------|

Now if get another explosion what would hapeen?

|-/---/-------|
|.F.....F.|...|
/FEFFFFFEF*...|
|.F.....F.|...|
|-/-----/-----|

Any help would be apreciated
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Koch
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tanori wrote:
Hello guys, i have some questions regarding the explosions, i hope you can help me.

How does the shockwave affects the buildings?

I have been damaging the walls and doors that are next to the explosion, but the ones that are farther away, for example:



D: Door
| and - : walls
E: Explosin
F: Fire
/: Damaged Wall
*: Damaged Door



|-/-----------|
| F | |
/FEFF F D |
| F | |
|-/-----------|

Now if get another explosion what would hapeen?

|-/---/-------|
| F F | |
/FEFFFFFEF* |
| F F | |
|-/-----/-----|

Any help would be apreciated


Fixed that for you... add [ c ] [ / c ] tags to use fixed space.

Not sure what you are trying to show though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Doesn't the flame explosion go outside to the sidewalk after that? Then the next turn all fires on sidewalk are picked up and thrown back into the supply pile....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabor Ironat
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
thank you very much, i was trying to fix it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabor Ironat
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
so the second explosion makes a hole on the left wall?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yes, along the same straight path
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabor Ironat
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
SO, for example, if there is a continuos long line of fire, a single explosion could damage a wall from one endd of the building to the other?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Someone with better knowledge than me will reply soon enough with a complete answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tanori wrote:
SO, for example, if there is a continuos long line of fire, a single explosion could damage a wall from one endd of the building to the other?

Definitely, yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Koch
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let me see if I understand. You start with this:

F= Fire
S= Smoke
D= Door
D= destroyed door
-= Wall
|= Wall
/= 1 Damage
X= 2 Damage (hole)
*= Explosion
!= Hazard

+-------------+
| F | |
|FFFF S SD |
| F | |
+-------------+


and you get another smoke on the left center fire spot resulting in: (before flashover)

before flashover: after flashover:
+-/-----------+ +-/-----------+
| F S | | | F S | |
/F*FFFS SSD | /FFFFFF SSD |
| F | | | F | |
+-/-----------+ +-/-----------+


If you were to add more smoke:

before flashover: after flashover:
+-/-----------+ +-/-----------+
| F S | | | F S | |
/FFFFFF SSD | /FFFFFF SSD |
| F | | | F | |
+-/-----------+ +-/-----------+


If you were to add more smoke (again):

before flashover: after flashover:
+-/-----------+ +-/-----------+
| F S | | | F F | |
/FFFFFFSSSD | /FFFFFFFFFD |
| F | | | F | |
+-/-----------+ +-/-----------+


If you were to add more smoke (again):

before explosion: after explosion:
+-/-----------+ +-/----/------+
| F F | | | F F | |
/FFFFFF*FFD | XFFFFFFFFFD |
| F | | | F F | |
+-/-----------+ +-/-----------+


If you were to add more smoke (same spot again). Note that the fire on the west side (sidewalk) gets removed before the next player turn.

before explosion: after explosion:
+-/----/------+ +-/----X------+
| F F | | | F F | |
XFFFFFF*FFD | FXFFFFFFFFFDF |
| F | | | F F | |
+-/-----------+ +-/-----------+


Another series of unfortunate events, same spot again:

before explosion: after explosion:
F
+-/----X------+ +-/----X------+
| F F | | | F F | |
XFFFFFF*FFDF | FXFFFFFFFFFDFF |
| F F | | | F F | |
+-/-----------+ +-/----/------+



Does that answer your question?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Koch
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. The shockwave travels along all fire tokens until it hits an impediment. If it's a closed door, remove it and stop that direction, if wall, do 1 damage and stop, if a open space, place a fire and stop, if smoke, flip to fire and stop.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabor Ironat
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Thanks for your better diagram and for you help.

One last question

If the impediment is an open space that is next to a wall, the wall gets damaged?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Koch
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. If you look at the last diagram there us an explosion that has a fire above it and an open space below. The explosion damages the wall above but doesn't hurt the one below.

it only hits the wall if it can't move into the space and it can always move into the space outside the building (sidewalk).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabor Ironat
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
thank you very much for your help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Koch
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Happy to! I added a further example to illustrate the effects of another explosion in the same space too. Good luck putting those fires out!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You remove a closed door, OR damage a wall, OR place a fire. Never more than one of those in each of the four directions.
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Koch
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gawain wrote:
You remove a closed door, OR damage a wall, OR place a fire, OR flip a smoke. Never more than one of those in each of the four directions.


A much more concise explanation. Thanks Tor!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.