Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Box 4 Questions - Spoilers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Laskey

Great Falls
Montana
msg tools
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Our group just opened box 4 and found the king and Ker. My question though is regarding portals of the ancients. We finished shortly after the box opened and there are no portals on the board yet, but one player has always been very interested about the gateway in the map in the center of row 5(large enough for a single ship to sail through) he observed that it looks just like the portals of the ancients in the new box without the dangerous waters effect. My questions is obvious by now. Is this space a portal of the ancients? As soon as we find the first portal sticker can we begin using it as such, or is there something coming later to unlock the space. The rules make no further reference to this space (actually they never do the bit was in the captains book) but it seems pretty strong that this is a portal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich P
United Kingdom
Sheffield
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I didn't know what to do with my UberBadge, so I left it as a GeekBadge.
badge
Planning...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it is and you can use it as such. It's not written in the rules anywhere but that seems to be the consensus in the forums.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Pelkofer
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
yes. You have it right. It's a portal. And you can start using it as soon as you discover another one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
(PSN) SilentSniper_X_
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Spoiler (click to reveal)
My assumption was since there was no dangerous waters check on the initial portal and the rules say you have to pass the dangerous waters check to enter the portal but not exit that the original portal served as an exit only and could not be entered. Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
We've been playing it that the portal printed on the map can be entered, it just doesn't take a dangerous waters check to use. Going out is free and easy but coming back can cost you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Addington
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
JRosen9 wrote:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
My assumption was since there was no dangerous waters check on the initial portal and the rules say you have to pass the dangerous waters check to enter the portal but not exit that the original portal served as an exit only and could not be entered. Is this correct?


Spoiler (click to reveal)

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/24092426#24092426
From one of the developers.
jayahre wrote:
OK, the Portal of the Ancients is a "free" (you don't have to roll the dangerous waters check) way to skip out farther to the sea once you've found other portals.

Of course, you have to follow normal rules and roll the Dangerous Waters checks when you're heading back, since you do so whenever you enter a portal (but not when you exit).

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joshaddington wrote:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
OK, the Portal of the Ancients is a "free" (you don't have to roll the dangerous waters check) way to skip out farther to the sea once you've found other portals.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Our box 4 had a sheet of stickers with Portals that have a dangerous waters value on them. But on the same sticker sheet, there was also a "7" sticker in the same style without the Portal. Doesn't this "7" go on the Portal that is pre-printed on the map? The new rules and box contents didn't say. But what else would that "7" sticker be for???

thanks,

Kevin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alberto Martínez
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is an entry of the book that tell you where you have to add this particular sticker.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
antihero88 wrote:
There is an entry of the book that tell you where you have to add this particular sticker.

Do you mean the Rule Book, so it's something we missed? Or the Captain's Booke, so we haven't discovered it or come across it yet?

thanks,

Kevin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's in the Captain's Booke. You haven't found it yet. You will eventually.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, guys! So the consensus is that

Spoiler (click to reveal)
the pre-printed Portal on the map has no number because it's free: no Dangerous Waters check is required. Which contradicts the rules, but that seems to be the way to play it.

Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. I don't know that it's a contradiction so much as "not covered by" the rules. You could do a dangerous waters check of zero if you want...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Waterman
United States
Commerce Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Search "Portal" and "JR" on these forums- he did indeed confirm that this is, indeed, a free Portal of the Ancients.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.