Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

New Angeles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ambiguous wording on High Risk Investments rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
l d
msg tools
Hey everyone, played this amazing game for the first time Friday night and we had some questions about the specifics of text on some of the cards.

High-Risk Investments:
"Choose 3 players. THe first player you choose gains 3 capital, the second player 2, and the third player gains 1 capital"

Is the intention of this to choose 3 OTHER players? or can you choose yourself?

Other cards such as Full Deployment specify "Choose another player and choose whether he draws....." so that would lead to believe you could include your self in the resolution of high risk investments. Thoughts?

Secondly, are the assets that don't specify they need to be discarded or exhausted re-usable? Eg Lily Lockwell: "at the start of a player's turn, if he has more capital than you, you may steal 1 random card from his hand"

Can she do this effectively every turn? or the one time the it will be used it is discarded immeditaely after?

I couldn't find clarification in the learn to play or rules reference.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
l d
msg tools
Same deal with Thomas Haas, can he only be used once? or can the player that owns him look (and swap) rivals at the end of every turn he was the active player?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
High Risk Investments:
I believe you can choose yourself. Indeed, most people should presume you're GOING to choose yourself, and will be lobbying to be #2 or #3. This card wouldn't make much sense in a 4 player game otherwise.

The lack of 'other' kind of cements it.

- -

Re: assets -- if they don't say to discarc or exhaust, you get to reuse them. This makes them more desirable to trade, since assets, along with capital, are the only two tradable items.

Indeed, being able to trade assets, especially ones like Thomas Haas, are useful for proving loyalty or intent.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duncan Idaho
United States
NYC
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, the cards are worded well (generally). You can select yourself, and negotiating that first slot away can give you value/leverage.

In fact, your subject is misleading - the wording is intentionally not ambiguous. It means exactly what it says, and the "ambiguity" comes from you trying to read something different into it than it says.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Sandy
Utah
flag msg tools
Really amazing game.

The card is not misleading or ambiguous whatsoever. In fact, I found the wording to be perfectly clear on all cards.

The card doesn't specify that it has to not be you or that it has to be other players. You're a player, so you can clearly choose yourself. Don't create rules where rules don't exist.

Other cards do have restrictions on choosing other players, and they say so.

Also, there is for example a card which lets you swap assets. The card also doesn't specify that they have to be yours or others' assets. Just two assets. So you may use it to swap assets between two other players not including yourself.

By the way, when someone plays a vanity card, it's always an interesting if not always good idea to play the asset of having to declare how s/he will use the vanity card, and it becomes binding. Vanity card offers often get replaced or go un-chosen, but it's often an amusing play to use that asset in combination nevertheless. You should probably use it when it matters though :-) .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kawi Santosa
Indonesia
Jakarta
DKI Jakarta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am figuring out this thomas haas also. Seems this asset is over powerful if can be used every end of turn.

Is it discarded or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ancoll wrote:
I am figuring out this thomas haas also. Seems this asset is over powerful if can be used every end of turn.

Is it discarded or not?


It's not discarded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kawi Santosa
Indonesia
Jakarta
DKI Jakarta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
well.. do you think Thomas Haas is over powered asset card?
the one who obtain it, can look all secret identity of all players..

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ancoll wrote:
well.. do you think Thomas Haas is over powered asset card?
the one who obtain it, can look all secret identity of all players..



What? No he can't. He can only look at the unused identity tucked under the board.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
@ Haas I only figured that by reading thoroughly a 2nd time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.