Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mare Nostrum: Empires» Forums » Rules

Subject: Control and build on same turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Meyers
United States
Frederick
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

So you may place a control marker
and immediately build on the same turn?


And a trireme is adjacent to a province for placing
control markers, correct?

Is this explicitly stated as such, or is it
just assumed becz of the rule which states
you may build after you control an area?
The rule just assumes that you know it can be done
in the same turn as you first control an area?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Park
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Yes, you can.

It's not explicitly stated, though it's not explicitly stated you can't.

However, on page six directly after section 3.1.2, the rules use an example where Greece builds a Trireme, a control marker, and a legendary city all in the same turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bredon
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
it is explicitly stated under 3.1.1 Control:
Rules Page 5 wrote:
Control may only be placed in a Province that is adjacent to or adjoining a Province that was under the player's Control at the beginning of the round.
Adjoining Province: A Province adjoins another Province through a continuous chain of the player's Triremes connecting the two Provinces.

The only thing that is not explicitly stated is that the Triremes do not have to have been there at the beginning of the round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Park
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Maybe I misunderstood the question, but what you quoted does not explicitly say that you can build in a province on the same turn you built a control marker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ferdinand Köther
Germany
Bochum
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hippibashr wrote:
Yes, you can.

It's not explicitly stated, though it's not explicitly stated you can't.

However, on page six directly after section 3.1.2, the rules use an example where Greece builds a Trireme, a control marker, and a legendary city all in the same turn.


I'd even say it is explicitly stated, because the rules say you can build in any order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thaddeus MacTaggart
Netherlands
Almere Buiten
Flevoland
flag msg tools
badge
Blood Rage fan - Raven Clan
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lucyfer wrote:
I'd even say it is explicitly stated, because the rules say you can build in any order.

Yup. After all, it's all building stuff. In this case, controlling is actually nothing more than building a ship or building a control marker. As long as you keep to the (adjacent/adjoining) conditions I don't see any reason to have any doubts about this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.