Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

Martians: A Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Common pool in cooperative mode? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christophe Ebro
France
Grenoble
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What is the goal of the common pool in cooperative mode as initiated in the setup phase: for es for 3 players 15 Energy and 3 Supplies.

I assume this is the common pool of resources players are STARTING with,
i.e. that they own at the beginning of the game and can start using immediately at turn 1 of Cycle 1, correct?

I.e. this is not the pool limiting the number of tokens available for the game? I assume there are still 30 Energy and 10 supplies for the game, yes?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Downie
United Kingdom
Wirral
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the common pool is just your starting resources.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Gan
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Am I right in thinking that if I produce more goods (e.g. food/medicine) in a cycle than I can take back to the living quarters, I don't lose the excess goods?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Downie
United Kingdom
Wirral
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. They just stay next to you or in the common pool. (Subject to co-op or not)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flavio De Leonardis
Italy
Pescara
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes, it's a common pool of resources the players start with and can be used by everybody.

Now I got a question... since it's not mentioned anywhere, in coop mode, credits are shared too? As for the resources?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Downie
United Kingdom
Wirral
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is mentioned in each set up. Page 6 & 7 for each specific game mode.

Shared Between Players:
Resources
Technology on the board
Quarters
Not Shared:
Technology on Corporation Cards
Energy Installations

May I suggest this player aid I made? It might help.

https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/143507/martians-set-and-p...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flavio De Leonardis
Italy
Pescara
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Vyking wrote:
It is mentioned in each set up. Page 6 & 7 for each specific game mode.

Shared Between Players:
Resources
Technology on the board
Quarters
Not Shared:
Technology on Corporation Cards
Energy Installations

May I suggest this player aid I made? It might help.

https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/143507/martians-set-and-p...


Perfect... and the credits? Are considered resources?
It should be logic that in a coop mode credits are shared...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Downie
United Kingdom
Wirral
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Credits are considered resources.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flavio De Leonardis
Italy
Pescara
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thank you so much!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Technologies on the Corporation Card" is a bit misleading, as the increase to Energy for two of the technologies do not affect that co-op player, as the Energy is part of the Common Pool. The other Corporation Card technologies may only be used by that player.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Downie
United Kingdom
Wirral
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Professor wrote:
"Technologies on the Corporation Card" is a bit misleading, as the increase to Energy for two of the technologies do not affect that co-op player, as the Energy is part of the Common Pool. The other Corporation Card technologies may only be used by that player.


The rules state that energy installations are also not shared.
So basically if the red player had built solar panels but it was the blue player that built the corporation upgrade to solar panels, as a group you would not see the benefit.
I understand the actual energy produced is shared but the corporation upgrades are not.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Erik,

Ahh, I see your point. If the blue player upgraded via the Corporation card, their Solar Panels, the aggregate of produced Energy would be +1, not +4 in a 4-player game if no one else upgraded.

Cheers,
Joe
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dieter van Loon
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmb
Joe,

That is only the case if the blue corporation also built at least 1 Solar Panel building.
If the blue corporation did not build the solar panels but does have the upgrade, then no bonus is given. So he needs to build the solar panels and upgrade his own solar panels to get a bonus.

Kind regards,
Dieter
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Downie
United Kingdom
Wirral
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glad you understood my post Joe as I rushed typing it half asleep this morning.
And thanks Dieter for confirming.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dieter,

Very good point...yes, I assumed it, but it's best for folks who may be new to the game. And according to the latest update, we'll see more folks out here soon.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Erik,

I responded pre-coffee, so we're even! snore

Cheers,
Joe
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Downie
United Kingdom
Wirral
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, those resources are shared as well. Also the quarters are shared so you would use those resources in all the quarters anyway.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.