Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hazardous Terrain rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arthur Janicek
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't seem to find it anywhere in the rules or FAQ. With respect to movement, how do enemies interact with Hazardous Terrain? Surely it must be the same as with traps. No?

And if they are caught in a situation where they have to choose between schlepping into a trap or hazardous terrain, they'll choose the path of least harm right? Or is it ambiguous and left up to the party to decide? Just don't think it's touched on in the rules.

Thanks all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Schwarz
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
GLOOOOOOOOOOOOOMHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVEN!!!!!!!!!!!
badge
maybe on the losing side. Still not convinced it was the wrong one....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's on page 31 under "Monster Interaction with traps and hazardous terrain" and it's like with traps.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Janicek
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right. There it is!

And the second part of the question?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Schwarz
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
GLOOOOOOOOOOOOOMHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVEN!!!!!!!!!!!
badge
maybe on the losing side. Still not convinced it was the wrong one....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say that if all paths are blocked by a trap and / or a hex of hazardous terrain that the monster just behaves like there were none and just go by it's standard focus rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Janicek
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right. But sometimes standard focus rules result in a situation where an enemy can end up in one of two different hexes adjacent to a character if the enemy is moving in for an attack. Normally it's left up to the party to decide which of the two hexes the enemy will move to. It's ambiguous. If there are the same traps in both the spaces, it's still up to the party to decide which space the enemy moves to. It's ambiguous.

If there's a trap in one space, and a hazard in the other, is it's resultant movement still ambiguous or will the enemy choose the space that brings least harm?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Schwarz
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
GLOOOOOOOOOOOOOMHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVEN!!!!!!!!!!!
badge
maybe on the losing side. Still not convinced it was the wrong one....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since nothing indicates that a monster would prefer one trap over the other or that there is any kind of differentiation about the damage taken, it must be ambiguous.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Childres
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm, this is an interesting question that has never come up before. I would rule that the monster makes no distinction between a trap and hazardous terrain, so it would go by the shortest route (through the least number of damaging hexes), and in the case of ambiguity, the players would decide.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sid Rain
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I'm actually curious how they handle another similar situation. Suppose an enemy has one path that will take them to the only target they can reach in one move, but it will take them into/through a trap/hazardous terrain. The enemy also has another path it can take that would take it around the trap/hazard, but it would require them taking 2+ moves to get to their target? So their path isn't completely blocked, but they can't do it in one turn. The rules seem to suggest that enemies treat traps/hazards as obstacles and would take the long way around, but then it also says that they'll go through traps if they have no other options. Does their 'programming' allow them to think beyond one turn since they can potentially change their orders from turn to turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Pelkofer
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
paddirn wrote:
I'm actually curious how they handle another similar situation. Suppose an enemy has one path that will take them to the only target they can reach in one move, but it will take them into/through a trap/hazardous terrain. The enemy also has another path it can take that would take it around the trap/hazard, but it would require them taking 2+ moves to get to their target? So their path isn't completely blocked, but they can't do it in one turn. The rules seem to suggest that enemies treat traps/hazards as obstacles and would take the long way around, but then it also says that they'll go through traps if they have no other options. Does their 'programming' allow them to think beyond one turn since they can potentially change their orders from turn to turn?


The rules don't suggest the monster will take the longer path. They explicitly state that the monster will take the longer path. It doesn't matter how many turns it takes to get into range.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Janicek
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes! Thank you Isaac. From the horse's mouth itself!

Maybe it's worth amending that particular question in the FAQ that pertains to enemy movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wes Holland

North Carolina
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
paddirn wrote:
I'm actually curious how they handle another similar situation. Suppose an enemy has one path that will take them to the only target they can reach in one move, but it will take them into/through a trap/hazardous terrain. The enemy also has another path it can take that would take it around the trap/hazard, but it would require them taking 2+ moves to get to their target? So their path isn't completely blocked, but they can't do it in one turn. The rules seem to suggest that enemies treat traps/hazards as obstacles and would take the long way around, but then it also says that they'll go through traps if they have no other options. Does their 'programming' allow them to think beyond one turn since they can potentially change their orders from turn to turn?


They take the long way around. They will treat traps/hazards as obstacles unless there is literally nothing they can do except go through a trap. Even if it will take several moves.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rav
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Play Tower Defense with the monsters.

Red = monster
Blue = hero
Green = trap/hazardous hex
Red Line = path taken

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Schwarz
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
GLOOOOOOOOOOOOOMHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVEN!!!!!!!!!!!
badge
maybe on the losing side. Still not convinced it was the wrong one....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ravendas wrote:
Play Tower Defense with the monsters.

Red = monster
Blue = hero
Green = trap/hazardous hex
Red Line = path taken


Hey, don't spoiler scenario #115 for us!!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.