Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Voyages of Marco Polo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does free movement count towards turn order. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryle Cuff
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It looks like the rule book specifically says turn order is tied only to the movement action space and the dice stacked on the the board. There are a few spots where it's vague though and seems like any other type of movement may also move you up in position.

What is the rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt D
United States
Peachtree corners
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bryle wrote:
It looks like the rule book specifically says turn order is tied only to the movement action space and the dice stacked on the the board. There are a few spots where it's vague though and seems like any other type of movement may also move you up in position.

What is the rule?


Pretty sure it is just the paid movement space (two dice, coins based around distance traveled). That's how it works in Yucata as well.

If it were other forms of movement it would be pretty imbalanced if the city actions only available to some could count. Imagine one of those is in Sumantra and someone starts in Beijing. Until someone else got there they could lie in wait and always claim start player.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryle Cuff
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh I definitely agree! Thanks for the response. I just wanted to be sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Hendrickson
United States
Seward
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed, it is only the 2-dice paid movement space that awards the first player token.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan
Brazil
Interior de São Paulo
São Paulo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1665221/player-order
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And that's also the reason why there's a hourglass printed near the 2-dice travel action space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.