Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: combining strategic movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Juliano
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about how 15.1 and 15.5 interact:

Quote:
15.1 Strategic Movement In General
There are four types of Strategic Movement—Rail, Ocean, River
and Road. A limited number of SPs may use each type in each Strategic
Movement Phase. Generals cannot be moved in the Strategic
Movement Phase—only SPs. SPs may combine the different types
during a single Strategic Move, but it counts against the limit on each.

15.5 Strategic Road Movement
Both sides may move 1 SP in each theater an unlimited distance
under the following restrictions:
• The SP must remain in the theater.
• There must be an LOC between the starting and ending hexes.


May a SP use River, Ocean, or Rail movement to cross a theater boundary and then use Road movement within the new theater? For example, could a SP in New Orleans (West theater) use River movement to Little Rock (Trans-Mississippi) and then Road movement to Fayetteville (within TM)? (Assuming the SP limit and other rules [e.g., LoC] are observed.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Williams
United States
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Certainly, the only limitation is that the ROAD MOVE be within the Theater where it starts AND you only get one Road Move per theatre.

And, of course, you have control of the Mississippi River from NOLA to the Arkansas River and control of the Arkansas River to Little Rock allowing the River Move.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Brenner
msg tools
So you could theoretically road march an SP from Norfolk to Macon, rail them to Atlanta, road march them to Vicksburg, riverine transport them to Little Rock, then road march them to Fayetteville?

Jackson's foot cavalry'd have nothing on them!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lordofnothing wrote:
So you could theoretically road march an SP from Norfolk to Macon, rail them to Atlanta, road march them to Vicksburg, riverine transport them to Little Rock, then road march them to Fayetteville?


You can in the game, but note that you could generally accomplish the same thing by moving 1 SP from A to B, a different SP from B to C, and so on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.