Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Pandemic Legacy: Season 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Research Stations in Panicking Cities ... solved rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tyler B
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gearing up for this game for the first time. Question on the rules.

Rules, Panic Level (page 4):
1 - Unstable - No Effect
2,3 - Rioting - ... Research stations are destroyed and cannot be rebuilt
...


Rules, On Your Turn, Other Actions, Build a Structure (page 8):
Discard the City card that matches the city you are in to place a structure there. In January, the only structures you have available are
research stations; more will come later. Take the structure from the pile next to the board. If all structures of a type have been built, you
may take one from anywhere on the board and more it to your current city. Each city may contain one of each type of structure.


My Question: Can you build research stations in panic level 2+ cities if one was not there when the city panicked? The rules are clear that you cannor rebuild a research station in a panic 2+ city.

Answer: No.

Game End, Structures, Research Stations (page 15):
... You cannot build a research station in a city that is rioting, collapsing, or fallen.

New Question: Why was this rule for building research stations buried in the game end upgrade section of the rules rather than the build a structure section of the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronald Tin
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Research station cannot be built in a city with riot level 2+.

I suppose the rule is placed there such that, even if you played wrongly, you will not spend your 2 upgrades to put a permanent research station sticker in the city.

The rule allows placement of other structures. In some situations, those structures may be put in riot level 2+.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Theorel Masheriel
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Page 15 seems to be miscellaneous rules, not Game End rules. It just wasn't well-headered.

It has a section on CARDS...including how player cards and event cards work, and the Hand Limit. Then rules on STRUCTURES. Then finally OVERLOOKED RULES.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyler B
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Theorel wrote:
Page 15 seems to be miscellaneous rules, not Game End rules. It just wasn't well-headered.

It has a section on CARDS...including how player cards and event cards work, and the Hand Limit. Then rules on STRUCTURES. Then finally OVERLOOKED RULES.


Fair enough.

But why is this stipulation not in any of the places where it talks about destroying or building research stations that I mentioned above? I suppose the "worst" that happens rules-wise is that you build a new research station there for the first game (if it's already rioting at that point) then notice on game teardown that you weren't supposed to. No big deal. Just a bit confusing as it seems to be a buried rule, literally at the bottom of the last page under the "Game End" header.

Perhaps page 15 should have had a "Miscellaneous Rules" header instead, as you astutely pointed out. wow
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.