Trevor DeMont
msg tools
We had this situation come up twice in the 1866 game tonight. The attacker (on the battle chart) inflicted 2 casualties, and the defender also inflicted 2. However, due to the defender only having corps in the battle (with 3 cohesion each), the defender actually took zero losses in the battle compared to the attacker's 2 losses (from already-reduced corp units). According to the chart, the Attacker gets the point for winning a 2-2 tie, but after taking losses the Attacker actually took more losses in the battle. So, who wins the battle and gets the Victory Point?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The attacker won. The attacker and the defender took the same number of hits; the fact that the defender's superior cohesion enabled it to absorb those losses without losing unit effectiveness does not mean those losses become any less real. Give the attackers their VP!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor DeMont
msg tools
Okay, thanks! That's the way we ruled it, but there was much debate about it and we weren't absolutely sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John B. Firer
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
dirubin wrote:
The attacker won. The attacker and the defender took the same number of hits; the fact that the defender's superior cohesion enabled it to absorb those losses without losing unit effectiveness does not mean those losses become any less real. Give the attackers their VP!


Dave is correct. See 11.2 Step 3 - discusses CF losses not step losses to determine winner.

Regards,

JBF
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor DeMont
msg tools
Thanks, and yes, we noticed in the rules (Step 3) that the Victory Point seemed to get awarded *before* actual losses were taken, and were based on the chart. But again, there was much heated debate about it. haha We're having a lot of fun with the game, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John B. Firer
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Trevor.

Glad you are enjoying it!

JBF
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.