Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Starving Artists» Forums » Rules

Subject: Just to be clear on taking paints... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Cortnik
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If during the night phase, only one person sells one painting worth nine for example, then can they just take nine paints from the paint market? Regarding wild paints, they could potentially take two then, right?

If one player sells two painting, one worth five and another four, the same would be true, but then there could be up to four wilds taken, since there were four different "collection" actions? Does this sound right?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fairway 3 Games
United States
Oregon
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes. For convenience, people treat it like just one collection action. But, you could take more than one clear paint since you can take one for each "collection." A nine paint painting is 3 total collection actions: 4, 4, 1.

2. When selling multiple paintings, they're each treated as different for collection purposes. So, even if not selling by yourself, you'd have two opportunities during the first collection to grab wild cubes.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gaining those wilds sounds hypothetical.

Since collection is from paint market, availability would depend on number of wilds that land there.

By the way, I'm really enjoying this game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fairway 3 Games
United States
Oregon
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Having multiple clears in the market does happen. The value of taking (or having) more than two is diminishing because of their utility. Most people only have one or two canvases at a time and so having too many wilds actually means they might miss a paint opportunity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.