GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

10,007 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Eric Buscemi
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Derek Davis, first appeared on Episode 53
@solostorygamer

1. Introduce yourself. Where are you from? What should listeners know about you?

Gaming history: I started playing magic in 7 th grade and have always been a collector. When I went to college I got wrapped into the LotR CCG from Decipher and Heroclix, but after college I could never find a community to play with and the prices were starting to get out of my range. In 2008 my wife and I started playing Catan with a few friends. I wanted to dig deeper; but, again, the group was not as interested as I was.

In 2013 I found my first Kickstarter game: Rivet Wars by CMON. That linked me to the Dice Tower and my collector rage (now fueled with adult-like income) went full froth, dragging me in the rainbow filled abyss of cardboard joy. Four years later, I have over 300 games and I contribute to a podcast every week. Crazy…

Personal history: I grew up on five acres of farm land in the central valley of California in a town called Clovis. I was on track out of high school to enter the music scene in LA. I played drums for a band and we had some fairly talented members. Instead, I decided to jump ship and go to college. I graduate with a degree in philosophy and religion from Point Loma Nazarene University in 2005. From there, my wife and I moved to Kansas City, Missouri, were we both completed master’s degrees: hers in education and mine in theological studies. I am currently and administrator and teacher at a seminary and my wife takes care of our 2-year old son. I am hoping to finish my doctoral degree next year.