Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Anansi and the Box of Stories» Forums » Rules

Subject: Breaking trump rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jest Phulin
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Microbadge: 5 Year Geek Veteran
Hm, I don't have my rules handy, and the "download rulebook" link on the level 99 website redirects to itself. But, I seem to recall the rules saying that one cannot play trump until they are out of the lead suit, unless they have played trump on a previous trick.

Does this mean that, if somebody was out of suit A and trumped that when it was lead, then suit B was lead and they have suit B in hand, they don't have to follow suit, but could instead trump it?
1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dom Hiob
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Eclipse fanMicrobadge: The 7th Continent fanMicrobadge: BattleCON: War of Indines fanMicrobadge: War of the Ring fanMicrobadge: Emacs user - it's a way of life...
sorry to be of no help. I just wanted to say that I love this thread's title for various reasons whistle
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jest Phulin
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Microbadge: 5 Year Geek Veteran
Ah, here it is. Second paragraph of the "Card Play" section:


The first player can play any card from their hand. This is called the
“Lead”. The next player must play a card of the same suit as the Lead (wild
cards count as the Lead suit). If a player has no cards of the Lead suit, then
they can play a card of any other suit. This is called playing “off-suit”. If
a you have not played a trump card in a Trick, you cannot play a trump
until you have no cards of the Lead suit in hand. This is called “breaking
the Trump”.
So, it specifies that one must play the Lead suit if one can, but then states that one cannot play a trump card on that Lead unless they have either previously played a trump or are out of the Lead suit.

I'm thinking this is a typo/cut-and-paste error, as there is an extraneous "a" in "If a[sic] you have not played...." I doubt it is a machine translation error into English, as the authors are native English speakers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
Avatar
Microbadge: EXCEED Fighting System fanMicrobadge: Millennium Blades fanMicrobadge: Level 99 Games fanMicrobadge: Dragon Punch fanMicrobadge: BattleCON: War of Indines fan
Yeah, this is just a poor wording on our part. "Breaking Trump" was a tough concept for us to explain well, since we're not really trick-taking specialists.

The simple idea is that you can't trump unless either one of these conditions is fulfilled:
a) Someone else has trumped already.
b) You are unable to follow suit.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jest Phulin
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Microbadge: 5 Year Geek Veteran
OK. This is different from most trick-taking games, then. You are allowed to play a trump if you could actually follow suit?

Then, with your answer of "someone else has trumped already," is that for any time in the hand, or just for that trick?

Or, y'know, swing by Empire Board Game Library some evening and we'll discuss this in person Sorry I can't make it to Active Imagination Tuesday nights...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
Avatar
Microbadge: EXCEED Fighting System fanMicrobadge: Millennium Blades fanMicrobadge: Level 99 Games fanMicrobadge: Dragon Punch fanMicrobadge: BattleCON: War of Indines fan
You are allowed to trump, if trump has been broken by another player in that hand. That's my understanding of it.

Maybe Ken will post and clarify things for me.

I should try to make it out... It's just so hard to get down to the south side on week nights XD
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Maher
Canada
Collingwood
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Microbadge: I love Canada!Microbadge: JugglerMicrobadge: UnicyclistMicrobadge: Ukulele playerMicrobadge: Bagpipe fan
I will add my apology too. This has more to do with Leading to a trick than with the rules of following suit.

Breaking Trump works as follows:

Players must follow suit when they can. If they cannot they are free to play trump (or any other suit).

However, players may NOT Lead a Trump Card (to begin a new trick) unless someone else has already played a trump card in a previous trick (this is called breaking trump) If no player has yet played a trump card (trump is not yet broken)you cannot start a trick in the trump suit.

I hope this is clearer!
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dom Hiob
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Eclipse fanMicrobadge: The 7th Continent fanMicrobadge: BattleCON: War of Indines fanMicrobadge: War of the Ring fanMicrobadge: Emacs user - it's a way of life...
kenmgames wrote:
I will add my apology too. This has more to do with Leading to a trick than with the rules of following suit.

Breaking Trump works as follows:

Players must follow suit when they can. If they cannot they are free to play trump (or any other suit).

However, players may NOT Lead a Trump Card (to begin a new trick) unless someone else has already played a trump card in a previous trick (this is called breaking trump) If no player has yet played a trump card (trump is not yet broken)you cannot start a trick in the trump suit.

I hope this is clearer!
Wow. I must admit I don't own the game yet. But I've been following this for amusement and out of interest. Never would I have understood that from the rules segment quoted above. Breaking trump really should have had an own paragraph that doesn't mix it up with the requirement to follow suit. Or Leading should have had an own paragraph, with breaking trump a subsection of that.

But: It's all very clear now!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jest Phulin
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Microbadge: 5 Year Geek Veteran
OK, methinks I understand. It is just like a common variant of Hearts.

You might want to consider rewording the rules for the next printing, though... The bit "you cannot play a trump until you have no cards of the Lead suit in hand" implies someone else had the lead, not you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Asmussen
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
I understood what was meant by this rule only because of many years of playing trick taking games. I think that the way it is written would definitely be unclear to most people who aren't already familiar with the concept of breaking a suit from playing other trick taking card games.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls