Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Vinhos Deluxe Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Magnate Actions once per Turn/twice per Year? (2016 Vintage) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Driver
United States
St. Paul
MN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Amazing game!

I'm all about them Magnates, but they got me all polarized... and yet, they're so attractive... like magn... nvm shake

In the rules book on page 15 of the 2016 Vintage edition of Vinhos, it states:

"During your turn in the Actions Phase (before moving your Action Marker, or before or after performing the Action, but not during the Action itself), you can flip one (and only one) of your face-up Magnate Action tiles to take the Action. Face-down Action tiles will be only flipped face up after the 1st and 2nd fairs, just like the Expert tiles."

I infer from this;

That Years/Rounds 1-3 (up until the fair) a Player may have 1 additional Action through his Starting Magnate Action Tile. (Perhaps, obvious.

(not so obvious);

Years/Rounds 4-6; if a Player has acquired multiple differing Magnate Action Tiles; A Player in theory could have up to;

2 Actions per Years/Rounds 4-6 totaling 6 additional Magnate Tile Actions during this time.

Inferred because; the rules state "During your turn... one (and only one)"

Therefore, considering a Player has two "Turns" in one Round/Year, if a Player owns multiple Action Tiles, so long as they are available, he may use them once per Turn.

Finally, the maximum number of possible Magnate Actions for a Player in an entire game of Vinhos is 7 additional actions throughout all 6 years/rounds.

Can anyone confirm/correct my understanding?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
O R
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
“Bugger this. I want a better world.”
badge
"Do not offend the Chair Leg of Truth; it is wise and terrible."
Avatar
mbmbmb
You are mostly right. Everything you said is correct, but you forgot that you can also use 1 magnate (and 1 expert) during the extra action after the 3rd fair, bringing the max total to 8 magnate actions:

- 1 for the starting magnate at some point during years 1,2,3.
- 2 per year for years 4,5,6.
- 1 during the bonus action.
4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Driver
United States
St. Paul
MN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lapsus wrote:
... you forgot that you can also use 1 magnate (and 1 expert) during the extra action after the 3rd fair, bringing the max total to 8 magnate actions:

- 1 for the starting magnate at some point during years 1,2,3.
- 2 per year for years 4,5,6.
- 1 during the bonus action.


blush cheers, as this was our first game, we completely missed that final turn!

Our end scores were 87 and 140. But, had we remembered (or paid attention) we would have done an extra turn after the third fair.

In reality, the final fair ended the game for us!

Oh well, now we have to play again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michal michal2013
msg tools
So, to be clear..

Player can't use magnate tile or expert bonus action
druring maintenace and production phase ? Can he ?

Only per 1/2 action phase each year?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Driver
United States
St. Paul
MN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
michal2013 wrote:
So, to be clear..

Player can't use magnate tile or expert bonus action
druring maintenace and production phase ? Can he ?

Only per 1/2 action phase each year?


Correct. You may only use the magnates and Experts during the actions phases.

"MAGNATE ACTION TILE USE

During your turn in the Actions Phase (before moving your Action Marker, or before or after performing the Action, but not during the Action itself), you can flip one (and only one) of your face-up Magnate Action tiles to take the Action. Face-down Action
tiles will be only flipped face up after the 1st and 2nd fairs, just like the Expert tiles."

pg 15 of the rule book. Emphasis added.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.