Popular Tags: [View All]
Christina
Canada
Fort Saskatchewan
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am brand new to mini painting but I did what I feel like is a reasonable amount of research before I started and after completing a couple mini's I do have a question about washes on these particular guys.

I'm painting Arcadia Quest: Inferno and decided to start with the demons.

So I chose black to prime them because it makes them look a little more sinister. It takes a few more coats of paint to cover with bright colors like the red I'm using but I was fine with that.

Now my understanding is the general simplified process is
1. Prime
2. Base coat
3. Wash
4. Dry brush
5. Highlight

So I did my base coat and then washed (using citadel wash) and then I kind of skipped the dry brushing. But my highlighting was more like several more base coats to get the black primer properly covered and I felt like I lost all effects of the wash.

Did I just wash too soon? When using black primer should I get proper coverage of the primer first then wash?

I just feel like I don't understand how to properly proceed after washing.
I had one of the little pet mini's primed white and washed him and didn't lose the effect of the wash as much but did still need a few coats on a couple spots as it was a very light color.

Should I just be washing when the coverage is very close to what I want in all cases?
Images of the mini in question about washing... It's my very first one, be kind

Oh and another question about sealer