Go Jira
United States
Plymouth
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This 18"x18" game board is done with the exception of the vehicles strewn about the map. A painstaking process since I have to place each vehicle on the map individually. I think this detail greatly improves the suspension of disbelief. As always, the scale is a strict 1:1200 scale. Here is an example:

But before I go any further forward, I could use some feedback from you folks.

Here is the game board and for comparison a tweak I made with the intention to better illustrate the border of the hex grid. I am not sure if this is necessary however.

Here is a full resolution sample of the board as it stands, if you would like to closely scrutinize the map:
Full resolution map sample

Do any of you with graphic design experience have any feedback on this? I am a hobbyist graphic designer at best, who uses photoshop CS2.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alex bermudez
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
It's a pretty great looking board. One thing I don't like about the grid is that it's pure white. This is something I absolutely hated about the Descent boards. You had those bright white lines ruining the artwork. Have you tried a thicker line with a lower opacity?

As to your question, I don't think the game NEEDS the broader outline on the borders, but I do think it looks better.

If you don't mind a bit of critique on a different aspect, the "default Photoshop drop shadow" on the buildings really bugs me because the lines don't match up as a real cast shadow would. The buildings almost look like they're floating. It's good for the trees, but the buildings, not so much.

I think the best way to do the shadows is the top way in this sample image:

But that's also the most time-consuming way.