Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Push versus Retaliate rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Denny Dukes
United States
Unspecified
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If my character attacks with an "attack 2, Push 2" and the enemy has Retaliate, does the foe get pushed away and then cannot retaliate in response, due to distance?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noel Szczepanski
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Brahm
Germany
Wuppertal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
P0isson wrote:
That is correct.


Do you have a reference?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 26 it says, "A retaliate takes effect afer the atack that initated it." So that would imply the push takes place before the retaliate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Mongelli
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
P0isson wrote:
That is correct.


Unless the enemy has Retaliate x Range 3 devil
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noel Szczepanski
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
toomuchcoffeeman wrote:
P0isson wrote:
That is correct.


Do you have a reference?


Nope. Since this has been asked and answered multiple times I figured if someone wanted the reference they could have looked it up themselves instead of asking the question here. Not trying to be a jerk, but I'm sure that I felt like looking up the reference even less than the OP.

jelerak wrote:
P0isson wrote:
That is correct.


Unless the enemy has Retaliate x Range 3 devil


This is more precisely correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glic2003 wrote:
On page 26 it says, "A retaliate takes effect afer the atack that initated it." So that would imply the push takes place before the retaliate.


I don't think that definitively answers the question. However, it's in the Official FAQ (OLD):

If the retaliating figure is pushed out of the range of its retaliate, it also does not trigger.

It would be nice not to start new threads about issues already in the FAQ.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Laurin
Australia
Perth
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
It would be nice not to start new threads about issues already in the FAQ.

That's a large part of the reason I put quotable links in the wiki version of the FAQ whistle

When exactly does retaliate trigger?
Retaliate triggers after all effects of an attack have been applied. If the retaliating figure dies from the attack, the retaliate does not trigger because the figure is removed from the board beforehand. If the retaliating figure is pushed out of the range of its retaliate, it also does not trigger. However, if it is pulled into retaliate range, it would trigger.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.