Popular Tags: [View All]
Jerry Schippa
United States
Sun Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been given a challenge by my wife...Build us a shelving unit for our office to hold our books and games, and I may purchase 6 new games of my choice.

I've decided on the following
Memoir '44
Istanbul
Thebes
Suburbia
TBD
A block wargame

I'm stuck between the popular Hammer of the Scots game which covers a topic I'm interested in, is a more typical block game, and has an interesting wintering mechanic; and Sekigahara: The Unification of Japan which is also well regarded, has a unique card driven gameplay and simple rules from what I've heard.

I'm new to wargames in general...Well except for the detailed simulation of Risk...So I'm looking for my block game to offer a good next step above memoir, have a good fog of war and bluffing mechanic to it, yet still be accessible.

Which one would be a better fit?
Which one do you prefer?
Any other thoughts?

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Malbon
United States
Santa Cruz
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hammer of the Scots is a great game. My first wargame after, Memoir'44.

But I think Julius Caesar is a better block game. Hammer is fun. The wintering is cool, but after 4-5 games the battles seem to always happen in the same areas.

In Caesar, there is a lot more manoeuvring available.

Sekigahara is fun too. I've only played it once, but enjoyed it a lot. I'm looking forward to playing it again.

Caesar would probably be my favorite of the bunch. But all 3 are great games.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Bouthner
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb