Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
justin lenaghan
Canada
Victoria
B.C.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If a monster can move two hexes but only needs to move one hex to engage his focused target, but in so doing will block off the monster who goes next from reaching their focused target, will the first monster move two hexes so both he and his ally can reach you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Florin
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Monsters do not take other monsters into account when determining movement.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Au
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
They get in each others' way all the time! It's a higher priority for a monster to take the minimum amount of movement to attack than to make room for their friends. More lazy than considerate!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Art Prime
United States
California
flag msg tools
aflorin wrote:
Monsters do not take other monsters into account when determining movement.

In other terms, based on what I understand, monsters never optimize for future turns or in consideration of future turns by monsters.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noel Szczepanski
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ArtemusPrime wrote:
aflorin wrote:
Monsters do not take other monsters into account when determining movement.

In other terms, based on what I understand, monsters never optimize for future turns or in consideration of future turns by monsters.


Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
justin lenaghan
Canada
Victoria
B.C.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thank god... the last thing I need is a coordinated surround and pound from some living bones.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bård Holst
Norway
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a monster has a move of 1 and none of the available spaces takes it closer to its focused target, will it still move? Or will it stay put?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Au
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
Nusferatu wrote:
If a monster has a move of 1 and none of the available spaces takes it closer to its focused target, will it still move? Or will it stay put?


Stays put, as long as it's along the closest path, it won't consider how much movement it actually has available to it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.