Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
DOUGLAS BRUNDIN
United States
Akron
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I've been struggling with beating the core box missions even after 10+ plays. I'm a veteran gamer but the brutality makes the game less enjoyable than I'd like. I've read most of the variants for "easy mode" here on the geek and I've come up with an idea that I'll be trying for myself. I'm going to call it Progressive Easy Mode.

I'll play new missions on regular LOTR official easy mode rules. If I lose, I'll start adding items from the following list in order each time I lose. After that, I'll move up to the next harder level and play that until I beat it, and so on until I'm playing on Regular Mode. The handicaps will stack so at level 3 I will get all the handicaps in levels 1, 2 and 3, etc.

Here's the order of how I'll add progressive handicap layers:

1. Play on official FFG LOTR easy mode
2. Choose one starting hand card per hero. For each hero, choose one starting card that matches his or her influence color (or neutral).
3. At the beginning of each turn when you collect resources, take one resource for each hero PLUS ONE EXTRA resource which you can assign to any of your heroes.
4. When drawing your card each turn, draw TWO cards and choose to keep one. Discard the other.
5. When drawing your card each turn, draw two cards into your hand and then discard one card from your hand.
6. Begin the game with a fourth hero and set your starting threat according the the value of the three most expensive heroes.
7. Do not use shadow cards.
8. Burn all your LOTR LCG cards and find a new game to play.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Buchholz
United States
Middleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
8. should read Sell all your cards and then use the money to find another game...

And you should reach 8 in a solo game against the Dol Guldur Scenario in the core box
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Jordano

San Diego
California