Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Cave Troll» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Hannam
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I can see that some of the rules for this game have different interpretations based on the edition.

However here are a few questions I am looking for clarification on.

1) You must play a card once you draw correct? Meaning you will only hold 1 card in your hand? Correct?

2)When a Wraith enters a room he automatically pushes an opposing hero. I can then use the wraith's action to push an additional hero correct?

3)Does and artifact cost the gold on the bottom of the card to use it?

4)When a hero is forced to move to an adjacent room who chooses? The player who moved it? Or the player who is being moved?

5)The Cave Troll can be placed anywhere correct? It can also move after its been placed correct?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes. The action is "draw and play a card".

2) You can use any number of your remaining actions to push other heroes out of the wraith's room.

3) No. You gain the gold value at the end of the game if you don't use the artifact.

4) It depends. With the cave troll, the hero's player decides. With the wraith or a given artifact (I don't remember the name), the active player decides.

5) The cave troll can be placed in any room, but it never moves.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Cooper
United Kingdom
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding your first question, the Artifact cards state that you hold on to them and play them later. Further, the rules say that you can "play a card and draw a card" it does not say you must play the card just drawn. So if you have an Artifact card, you can draw a card but play the Artifact card, and then you'll have the newly drawn card still in your hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jez2k wrote:
So if you have an Artifact card, you can draw a card but play the Artifact card, and then you'll have the newly drawn card still in your hand.

This is wrong. You must play an action card, either the one already in your hand or the one you've just drawn. Playing the artifact card is a completely different and unrelated action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Cooper
United Kingdom
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well in that case I am puzzled. Under what circumstances can you have more than one card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Action card? Never.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Cooper
United Kingdom
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say that, as one action, you can draw a card to your hand and play a card, implying that you can have more than one card since a hand is only a hand if it has more than one card. As such, it also implies that you don't have to play the card that you just drew.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure why this is confusing.

After you draw a card, you now have 2 cards in your hand. You can play one of those cards. Now at the end of your turn you will only have 1 card in your hand. The only time you will have 2 cards in your hand is during the middle of your turn.

The game uses the term "hand" because that's the universally accepted term for any number of cards (0 to infinity) held by a player waiting to be played.

A hand of 1 card is still a hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
veector wrote:
After you draw a card, you now have 2 cards in your hand. You can must play one of those cards. Now at the end of your turn action you will only have 1 card in your hand. The only time you will have 2 cards in your hand is during the middle of your turn action.

I fixed the paragraph above to be precise. You cannot draw a card, move some hero or monster, then play a card. When you draw an action card, you must play one of the two cards immediately, because playing it is a part of the same action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Cooper
United Kingdom
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It appears we forgot about the setup rule which gives each player a card before the game starts.blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.