Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Spencer
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to the 18xx community and have purchased several titles that are readily available from larger publishers (1846, 1830, 1844/54). I am having a blast playing and learning the system!

After discovering Deep Thought Games, I decided to place an order and currently I am ~1300th in line. After reading several of the posts in this forum, my hopes of having the games I've ordered in the 7-11 month estimation have diminished.

I'm not sure if this has been asked before but has Deep Thought ever considered selling PnP files for the games they publish? I think they could work something out with the designers as far as royalties are concerned. Or better yet, have the designers ever given this any consideration themselves. It seems that most of the games had PnP files for playtesting prior to production that were readily available via BGG and the 18xx Yahoo group. I'm pretty sure I'm not the only newbie that would be willing to pay a reasonable cost for the files so that I could print and assemble it myself.

By no means am I faulting Deep Thought for the long wait for their games. I fully understand the time and effort it takes to hand make a boardgame, not to mention a high quality one but this option could alleviate some of the availability issues that hinders newcomers looking to explore 18xx's design space.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Memento ferrugo
badge
Memento ferrugo
mbmbmbmbmb