Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Sails of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Broken masts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ran Stu
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Why can't you fix a broken masts when you get it by taking sail damage but you can when you take a broken damge counter?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
randystu5417 wrote:
Why can't you fix a broken masts when you get it by taking sail damage but you can when you take a broken damge counter?

Because you don't technically have a broken mast to fix.

It is less about fixing the mast as it is that you are out of sail repairs at that point. Once you have had to fix that many sails, you basically treat it is a broken mast as far as game effects go (use the broken mast sail cards). But you can't fix the mast because it isn't the mast that is broken.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ran Stu
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Ok would have been nice to say that instead of saying you have a broken mast. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
randystu5417 wrote:
Ok would have been nice to say that instead of saying you have a broken mast. Thanks.

It could have been clearer but it does say that "when the ship takes the sixth sail damage, the ship is considered to have a broken mast" emphasis added. It doesn't say it has a broken mast. And then it clarifies that it can't be repaired. So everything you need to know to play is there - just not the "why."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.