Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Conflict at the Carrock: Trolls to Discard Pile? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pádraic MacOireachtaigh
Uganda
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Do the four unique trolls go into the discard pile after they're defeated? They don't carry any Victory Points and the explainer sheet that comes with the Adventure Pack doesn't state otherwise, so it does seem they do.

Thematically, this doesn't make a great deal of sense to me: the trolls come back to life if you don't defeat their friends quick enough?

It also means that playing on Easy Mode, for example, has an additional level of difficulty: because the encounter deck is much, much slimmer, it means defeated trolls in the discard pile are likely to crop up again much sooner.

I've only found one answer to this (here https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/55282-conflic...) and it's unanimous, if unofficial.

Any thoughts to confirm or contest these conclusions? Many thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed T
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I won't comment re: Thematic issues, but yes, the trolls go to the discard pile.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris M
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This video more or less answers your question...though you have to watch until close to the end.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHdrmb19qTo
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Motz
msg tools
Discard pile would be the "official" ruling, but nobody will stop you from removing them from the game if you want to
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel McNaughton
New Zealand
Wellington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thematically you've just knocked them out!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goulette
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cmabr002 wrote:
This video more or less answers your question...though you have to watch until close to the end.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHdrmb19qTo


Oh my lord. That was funny. How did you find that?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.