Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Raiding Players rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Pearson
United States
Ankeny
Iowa
flag msg tools
Loves Theme
badge
Des Moines Area Boardgamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure how we started playing this way as I am reading the rules and don't see it. So I want a sanity check here. You get glory for raiding other players right? Like ships, province,.....other stuff later?

We haven't been doing that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Once you're allowed to raid players' provinces, ships, and other stuff, yes, it's a raid endeavour, and as such will earn you 1 glory if you're successful.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Make that a base of one glory for the successful raid. If you steal something worth glory, you gain (and your opponent loses) the value of the thing stolen. For example: treasure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Pearson
United States
Ankeny
Iowa
flag msg tools
Loves Theme
badge
Des Moines Area Boardgamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks....glad we caught this now
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a good non-spoilery example.

Others are: Advisors worth glory (they're mentioned in the rulebook) -- structures (okay, you don't gain additional glory, because you only get a good or gold, but your opponent does lose the glory for the structure) -- and I guess that's it. Though if you sink your opponents ship, they will lose the glory for any upgrades they have that must be returned.

and... (box 4 spoiler)
Spoiler (click to reveal)
if you steal their colony, then you gain the glory for having the colony and any structures they were foolish enough to build on it (which you now get -- provided you have the enmity to activate it immediately).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here it is in the rules.
SeaFall Rule Book, Page 10, Starting an Endeavor wrote:
Depending on which guild action you have chosen (see guild actions, page 14), you may be conducting a raid or exploring the unknown.

SeaFall Rule Book, Page 10, Completing an Endeavor wrote:
Gain 1 glory for a successful endeavor, and your turn continues.


There isn't anything specific about it in the "raiding ships" section or the "colonies" section of the rule book, because those both fall under the rules for all raids.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
That rule is a bit misleading, though. You don't actually gain glory for everything that the game refers to as and "endeavor". It's really "When you succeed at a raid or explore *action* that requires an endeavor roll, gain a base of one glory". The distinction might make more sense later as you progress in the game.

Also, don't forget that when you raid an island dock and gain an upgrade, you gain two glory. One for the raid, and one for the upgrade!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Pearson
United States
Ankeny
Iowa
flag msg tools
Loves Theme
badge
Des Moines Area Boardgamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Becq wrote:
That rule is a bit misleading, though. You don't actually gain glory for everything that the game refers to as and "endeavor". It's really "When you succeed at a raid or explore *action* that requires an endeavor roll, gain a base of one glory". The distinction might make more sense later as you progress in the game.

Also, don't forget that when you raid an island dock and gain an upgrade, you gain two glory. One for the raid, and one for the upgrade!


Yes, I understand that. Unfortunately we are going into game 7 with 5 boxes open before we figured that out. It definitely has to be part of the action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.