Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Brute rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When you buy using the Brute at 2 separate islands, is he able to discard 2 goods?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Brute wrote:
After buying goods, you may return one other good on that island to the supply


As written, I could see how it could be interpreted to mean if you're buying from two islands then you could put back one from each. However, my intuition is that's not what was intended, and it's meant to be read more like this:

"After buying goods, you may return one other good on an island you bought goods from to the supply."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree that the intention (in my opinion) was that you could return *one* good from one island.

From a strictly literal perspective, it could be argued that the text not only specifies the single good limit, but also implies ("that island") that you can only purchase from a single island when using that power. (Though I don't think that was the intention.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.