Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Mechs vs Minions Review rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Phillips
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Mechs vs. Minions
It was about 3 weeks ago at about 10:30 in the morning when the doorbell rang.
“Mr Phillips?”
“Yeah that’s me”
It was the postman, red faced and beside him a hulkingly big box.
“Almost did myself a mischief carrying this from the van”
He laughed, I laughed, it got a bit awkward, I signed for the package and then rushed inside with it. I had been waiting all week for this and I quickly went to work on removing the outside packaging with all the finesse of a pug eating a chicken Korma. There it was in all its glory, Mechs vs. Minions by Riot Games.

A little bit of a back story before I jump right in. I have played League of legends for about 6 years. I’m not very good at it by a lot of people’s standards but it is a game I have plugged thousands of hours into and for the most part it is in a universe I really enjoy. Funnily enough most of the character that you can play as in Mechs vs. Minions are among my least favourite from League of Legends (looking at you Heimerdinger). Having played a fair few sessions now I can honestly say this game can and should be enjoyed by those who have never played the video game.
As soon as you open the box you instantly get an overcoming feeling of just how epic this game is. There are hundreds of components in the box all held together in layer after layer of plastic trays. The quality of the miniatures in this game is just phenomenal and I could literally write a whole article on just how good they are like some sick love letter to the plastic gods. Each layer you pull out fills you with so much excitement and so many questions.
“Do we need this many minions?”
“What’s that sealed box with the axe sticking out?”
The game is truly on to a winner before it has even been set up which is only made even more awesome by the fact the game is very good too.