Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Dinosaur Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions after first play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nigel Edwards
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

Just completed my first game on Tabletopia and I'm really impressed! When it's all set up it looks really daunting but actually the mechanics are far more straight forward than it looks.

We had a couple rules questions/comments though:

1) In the manual it says if you replace a specialist during the market phase you lose the bonus immediately - is this the same for lab upgrades? Specifically, we both had the +2 security level lab upgrades in play, if we overwrite the lab upgrade with another do we lose 2 security level?

2) On the subject of lab upgrades, is "increasing your paddock capacity" the same as "increasing you paddock level"?

3) During the Market phase, once something is bought we were playing that it's not replaced until the cleanup phase, is this correct? In 2 player that's not too bad, but I can see in 4 player that might end up being a bit rubbish for the 2nd round of picks in a turn?

4) The dice that's set aside to increase threat level during the dino escape phase, do you actually move your threat up by the number of pips on the dice and then drop it back during the cleanup phase?

5) The wording on end game objective to "have 5 lab upgrades" we played it that you needed to install 5 new ones on the board rather than installing one and getting it first turn - I think that's correct but the wording could be more specific.

Really enjoyed the play regardless and even more hyped for the game now!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kravex wrote:
1) In the manual it says if you replace a specialist during the market phase you lose the bonus immediately - is this the same for lab upgrades? Specifically, we both had the +2 security level lab upgrades in play, if we overwrite the lab upgrade with another do we lose 2 security level?


If you place a new lab upgrade over top of another one, you immediately lose any benefit provided by the previous lab upgrade.

kravex wrote:
2) On the subject of lab upgrades, is "increasing your paddock capacity" the same as "increasing you paddock level"?


Yes. In the final versions, all rules text on cards and in the manual will consistently refer to this as "paddock capacity."

kravex wrote:
3) During the Market phase, once something is bought we were playing that it's not replaced until the cleanup phase, is this correct? In 2 player that's not too bad, but I can see in 4 player that might end up being a bit rubbish for the 2nd round of picks in a turn?


Correct -- the market is not "refreshed" (i.e., new items) until the end of the entire round. There are 12 items available each round, though, so there should always be a few good options.

kravex wrote:
4) The dice that's set aside to increase threat level during the dino escape phase, do you actually move your threat up by the number of pips on the dice and then drop it back during the cleanup phase?


You do not physically increase your threat level (on your lab board's threat indicator) in this case. You just mentally note that your total threat for the round is X + Y, where X is marked by your threat indicator and Y is the number of threat pips on the set-aside DNA die.

kravex wrote:
5) The wording on end game objective to "have 5 lab upgrades" we played it that you needed to install 5 new ones on the board rather than installing one and getting it first turn - I think that's correct but the wording could be more specific.


In the final version, this objective will say "buy 5 lab upgrades" to specify that the pre-printed lab upgrade tiles do not count toward completion.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Robison
United States
Lynden
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you're adding the pips from the DNA die, do you pull the highest from any of the dice available or the highest from the unclaimed dice? I wasn't sure if grabbing, say, a the single die with the highest threat would eliminate it from being a problem.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DanielRobison wrote:
When you're adding the pips from the DNA die, do you pull the highest from any of the dice available or the highest from the unclaimed dice? I wasn't sure if grabbing, say, a the single die with the highest threat would eliminate it from being a problem.


It's always the unclaimed die with the most threat pips.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Snowulf
United States
Anna
Texas
flag msg tools
Check out my blog at: FriendlyGameNight.com
badge
Check out my blog at: FriendlyGameNight.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FreedomGunfire wrote:

It's always the unclaimed die with the most threat pips.


So if all the die are claimed, there is no increase in threat level, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
karlo arciaga
United States
California
flag msg tools
Would you mind commenting on your general first impressions of the game after 1 play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Lewis
United States
Bath
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you look in these forums another user has commented on his thoughts after 3 plays on tabletopia.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heath Washburn
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shoone wrote:
FreedomGunfire wrote:

It's always the unclaimed die with the most threat pips.


So if all the die are claimed, there is no increase in threat level, right?
Right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.