Hide
21 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: new gamer what games to buy first? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
black dog
msg tools
hi i'm new to board games but after enjoying playing other peoples games many times i thought it was time i should get some of my own and would appreciate recommendation

i have ticket to ride, disc world ankh morpork and code names already

i have enjoyed playing dominion, power grid, manhatten project, terra mystica, istanbul and brewcraft

i was thinking of buying one or more of
dominion, istanbul, splendor, terra mystica, carcassone, agricola, castles of burgendy, puerto rico

all advise/suggestions gratefully received
(my budget is £100-150)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Coniff
United States
Springfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
Check me out on Instagram: @WisdomForWizards
badge
"Behold, a treasure more valuable than gold."
I'd watch some videos on the ones you listed, maybe read the forum reviews or session reports, and go from there.

Honestly the best way to find suggestions is to spend some time on this site reading different forum posts, looking up different games and all the games people relate those too, etc.

This is a hobby subject to your opinion so there is really no right or wrong answer. You need to decide what purpose you have for wanting to start a collection, and who you'll be playing them with. Let that drive your spending.

-------------

The short answer:

You're into what is often labeled as Euro-games. Look some examples of those up whether here or on reddit, and put in the time researching what people discuss.

The even shorter answer:

Buy what you already know you enjoy to round off the beginning of your collection.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kuba W
Poland
Kraków
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Consider buying a game that your friends don't have.