Popular Tags: [View All]
Colm D
Estonia
Saku
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
mb
Hi, all!

I believe this is my first post on BGG. Anyway, I pulled the trigger on backing this one today on KS on the basis of the artwork. I can clearly see that that is solid, but what concerns me is the mixed reviews the gameplay has gotten here on BGG.

I had been backing Dragoon, again for the artwork, but dropped out when I learned that luck played a big factor in the game.

I am relatively new to the hobby and I mostly game solo or with my wife. She doesn't like direct conflict (area control/dudes on a map), preferring co-ops, story games and games that involve indirect conflict (such as euros), but surprisingly she likes Ashes. I also like story games, games that involve campaigns and RPG-like board/card games. (I also love RPGS, but that's another topic.)

So it seems that we will get as much play out of the versus mode as out of the co-op. My questions are:

1) is one mode stronger than the other? and
2) is any of those modes disappointing, uninspiring?

I have read elsewhere on this site that the gameplay is rock paper scissors with fancy art. I would hope that it isn't, given the price point (50 usd for base and expansion and 25 usd for postage to Europe). At that price point I could pick up Arkham Horror LCG, which I have heard great things about, and a small box expansion for Eldritch Horror, my wife's favourite game. That said, I like supporting small publishers and getting my hands on relatively obscure games, which might not otherwise make it to retail in Europe, especially Estonia.

Thanks in advance for replies!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Royer
United States
Wilmington
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I LOVE the solo/co-op mode. Only played that so far, but I really liked it. From what I can see about the dueling, it could be fun, but that story mode is deep and with the new KS expansion it's only going to get better.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls