Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Red Poppies Campaigns: The Battles for Ypres» Forums » Rules

Subject: What is a Hill Hex? What is Control? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kuene
Switzerland
Zurich
Zurich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am playing Campaign Game 2: Frenzenberg
The Germans got Frenzenberg at the end of the last Night Attack.
Now Germans and Brits score 20 points each if I count only the Hill hexes where the central dot is covered by the highest elevation color.

So my question is:
What exactly is a Hill Hex?

3 examples on Map 1915:
Is V14 a Hill hex?
Is V15 a Hill hex?
Is S21 a Hill hex?
Do these Hexes give Victory Points?


And about Control:
Must a Unit be present in a Hex to control it?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gorkowski
msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
You're asking a number of questions here.

1) What's a "hill" hex? Per rule 8.41, it's any hex with level 1 or higher.

2) For your examples: V14, V15, S21, the question is really, "Are these level 3 hill hexes?" (As required for victory). And the answer is yes because of rule 8.44 "Units in a hex with multiple contours are always considered to be at the highest elevation available in that hex, but still trace line of sight from the hex center do." So, if a hex contains any amount of hill then it is a hill hex, and if it contains any amount of level 3 then it is a level 3 hex, etc.

3) Per rule 3.9 "units gain control of a hex when their side is the sole occupant." There is no requirement to stay in the hex.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kuene
Switzerland
Zurich
Zurich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot for the clarifications.
The term "hill hex" is introduced only in the scenario victory conditions as far is I know. I read Rule 8.41 only in regard to LOS. blush
I think this is what got me confused.

So the game did not end in a draw after all. The Germans won 34:20.
The British really need to work on their defence!



Such a fantastic game and beautiful too!

Thanks John.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.