Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Spartacus» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on entry of Spartacus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
shehan pingamage
Canada
Oshaw
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In the middle of playing our first game of Spartacus, and ran into a question with regards to the Spartacus Card (i.e. the first card that introduces him into play). The question we had was, so when the Sertorian plays the Spartacus Card to bring him into play, does the 2 provinces in Gaul, also change political control to the Sertorian player - i.e. all spaces in these 2 provinces will now be replaced with Sertorian Political Markers?

i.e. including situation where there are republican armies/units present in these provinces?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John B. Firer
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Shehan,

Don't quite understand your question...but:

The Spartacus Resource card only can be played on certain turns if the die roll is made. When played, follow the text on the card.

Regards,

JBF
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
shehan pingamage
Canada
Oshaw
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi John,

Thanks very much for the reply!

Yes, we are pretty clear about the fact that the card can only be played early by getting the right die roll.

The question was more around what happens when the card is played, in addition to bringing in Spartacus, Crixus and the Gladiator Unit. So the text suggests:

'The Sertorian Player now controls all Servile forces and Servile Controlled territory for the remainder of the game as part of the coalition'

We assumed that 'Servile Controlled Territory' means - the provinces Cisalpine Gaul and Nasbonese Gaul, and as such we converted the political control markers of these 2 provinces from the Republican player to the Sertorian Player. We were playing the Campaign game, which as you know had these 2 provinces having Republican markers originally. At the time of palying the Spartacus Card, it was still republican controlled. We also had a few republican forces in those 2 provinces, and get we flipped all the politican control markers to Sertorian political markers even on the spaces which had Republican forces.

So did we do this correctly?

Thanks again!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John B. Firer
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
No, Spartacus is placed on Vesuvius only, with the forces listed on the card.

Hope this helps,

JBF
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
shehan pingamage
Canada
Oshaw
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
ok, thanks! much appreciated.

Shehan.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John B. Firer
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
sping wrote:
ok, thanks! much appreciated.

Shehan.


You are most welcome, Shehan!

Enjoy,

JBF
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.