Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Forbidden Stars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Forge Token and Order upgrades rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Senkan Yamato
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Super evil = Probably a Good special
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you use a single forge token on order upgrades / combat unit upgrades?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carthoris Pyramidos
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. I'm 99% sure the rules specify that you can't use forge tokens to adjust the civ level requirements on upgrades. That's just for building units.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chris thatcher
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Just for building units/structures
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Hook
United States
Lenexa
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tariff wrote:
No. Just for building units/structures

And then you are limited to only being able to buy units one level above your current City development level. So, if you were at Zero Cities, you could not buy units at Level 2.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Senkan Yamato
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Super evil = Probably a Good special
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Carthoris wrote:
Nope. I'm 99% sure the rules specify that you can't use forge tokens to adjust the civ level requirements on upgrades. That's just for building units.


I've searched all the rulebooks, learn to play and rules reference but can't find anything on the matter. My group thinks it'll be okay since some races may not want to get 3 cities sometimes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Clinite
msg tools
mbmb
From the learn to play rules page 9:

Quote:
Forge Tokens: Some units require the player to
spend a forge token to purchase them. This is
displayed on the faction sheet below the unit’s
materiel cost.
Alternatively, a player may spend a forge token
when purchasing a unit to reduce its command
level requirement by one.


Keyword: when purchasing a unit. Says nothing about upgrades, so it doesn't affect upgrades.
4 
 Thumb up
5.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Genestealer Patriarch
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Applejack123 wrote:
Carthoris wrote:
Nope. I'm 99% sure the rules specify that you can't use forge tokens to adjust the civ level requirements on upgrades. That's just for building units.


I've searched all the rulebooks, learn to play and rules reference but can't find anything on the matter. My group thinks it'll be okay since some races may not want to get 3 cities sometimes.

It's on page 7 of the rulebook. Last sentence "A player cannot spend forge tokens to reduce the command level restriction for upgrade cards."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.