Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Sekigahara: The Unification of Japan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Siege + 8.2.3 + 8.2.4 + Leader rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Bukata
United States
Amherst
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Pi-Shu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can Leader Deploy for free (no card) at the beginning of a siege?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bukata
United States
Amherst
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Pi-Shu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I ask because under siege rule 8.9.4 it states that the attacker deploys (8.2.3), it doesn't reference 8.2.4 in regards to the no card for a leader.

So is the use of 8.2.4 implied or not applied?

Thank you,
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Johnston
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I certainly have played it that leaders can be deployed for free. Rereading the rule I still think that's correct but you are right it not explicit, but sieges work on the principle of changing as little as possible from battles and any changes are mentioned i.e. Defender doesn't deploy and you get an extra card for each block lost rather than every two. Therefore since they don't say it's different it must be the same.
Hope that helps.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bukata
United States
Amherst
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Pi-Shu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Paul,

Thanks for the answer - while not possibly the official rule that was kind of how I felt also - but...I can see it certainly both ways.

Its nice to hear how someone else plays it! (I wonder if most play it like you mentioned)

thank you,

-Dave
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francois-Xavier
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd like some official answer as well. I think the leader is free as per 8.2.4 and my wife disagrees! So in the interest of matrimonial peace, we need a ruling!!!!!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Richbourg
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
This is Kyoshi, our adopted Shiba Inu.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my only open question about the game at this point. Needs an official clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benji
Switzerland
Gurmels
FR
flag msg tools
visit us on www.muwins.ch
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since 8.9.5 (Siege Combat Restrictions which forbid Special Attacks and Loyalty Challenges) does not mention leaders, i am 94.76% sure that leaders can be deployed as normal.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Richbourg
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
This is Kyoshi, our adopted Shiba Inu.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arduinceo wrote:
Can Leader Deploy for free (no card) at the beginning of a siege?

Via Geekmail, I got the answer from Matt Calkins, "yes". That settles this for me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.