Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Settle Powers & their special effects rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Den Ell

Nebraska
msg tools
mb
Easiest way to explain this one is to refer to those powers listed on the 'Card Summary' under III Settle: (+1), (+2) etc.

Question: Are all these modifiers interchangeable without restrictions(except as noted by color)? For example:
Lets say my tableau has 2 cards with Settle powers totaling +2 non-military world; & also my tableau has 2 Settle card powers which total +4 non-military alien world.

Can all of these be combined for a total of (+6) settle powers to apply towards purchasing an Alien Card? Or are only 'alien' powers cards applicable?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any power without an explicit restriction is applicable to all, so in your example +6 is applicable.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Den Ell

Nebraska
msg tools
mb
Thanks Ben. For some reason I thought the alien powers were the only ones that worked on Alien cards. Not sure where I dreamt that one up. Its been a while since I've played the game and have forgot a lot. I appreciate the reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, there are a lot of such powers that work on all planet types *except* alien, so that might be where the idea came from.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Klinck
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Denell wrote:
Thanks Ben. For some reason I thought the alien powers were the only ones that worked on Alien cards. Not sure where I dreamt that one up. Its been a while since I've played the game and have forgot a lot. I appreciate the reply.


There are some settle powers that do not work with Alien worlds - the Colony Ship for example... but unless the card says it doesn't work with Alien worlds, it does.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Den Ell

Nebraska
msg tools
mb
Ben, Very possible. The game sat on my table for well over 6 months and I played it constantly during that time. They seemed to isolate the 'aliens' at about every turn, so that's probably where that came from. But upon further perousal of that section of the rules, it made no mention of that.

Ian: I like that 'literal' interpretation very much, very reminiscent of another board game author who made another one of my favorites: "Fire in the Lake", that one sat on my table for over a year, with constant play, (of course, when I had the time), and only taken down just recently for this one. Sometimes 'literal' and unmentioned works, the next time that one little word you missed or misinterpreted 'to mean' can trip one up big time.

Thanks guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iklinck wrote:
Denell wrote:
Thanks Ben. For some reason I thought the alien powers were the only ones that worked on Alien cards. Not sure where I dreamt that one up. Its been a while since I've played the game and have forgot a lot. I appreciate the reply.


There are some settle powers that do not work with Alien worlds - the Colony Ship for example... but unless the card says it doesn't work with Alien worlds, it does.


Contact Specialist also does not work with alien worlds (I call that one out because it has a lot of text on it (relatively speaking) and can be confusing).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Den Ell

Nebraska
msg tools
mb
cferejohn wrote:
[q="iklinck"][q="Denell"]

Contact Specialist also does not work with alien worlds (I call that one out because it has a lot of text on it (relatively speaking) and can be confusing).


I've rarely used this card. I guess the reason appears to be to keep my options open. There's been many a game where all I could get,(especially early on) was a 1 military cost Windfall world, and I can't tell you how many times that one military world has saved me; or at least kick-started my faction with a wealth of cards harvested often and early enough to keep others from reaping the harvest of my explore. And also it has a lot to do with which start world one gets. If I get a militarily inclined start world, especially, weakly so, (like Epsilon Eridani), I'm not going to mess up that +1 settle mod by selecting anything that would essentially erase it (early on).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Benkyo wrote:
Well, there are a lot of such powers that work on all planet types *except* alien, so that might be where the idea came from.
cferejohn wrote:
iklinck wrote:
Denell wrote:
Thanks Ben. For some reason I thought the alien powers were the only ones that worked on Alien cards. Not sure where I dreamt that one up. Its been a while since I've played the game and have forgot a lot. I appreciate the reply.


There are some settle powers that do not work with Alien worlds - the Colony Ship for example... but unless the card says it doesn't work with Alien worlds, it does.


Contact Specialist also does not work with alien worlds (I call that one out because it has a lot of text on it (relatively speaking) and can be confusing).


Make sure you don't confuse the 2 situations you get from saying "alien worlds"...
1) A world with the ALIEN keyword in it

For example, you can use Contact Specialist to settle Alien Booby Trap


2) A world that can hold an alien technology/yellow good
Contact Specialist may NOT be used on this world...

For that matter, there has yet to be an actual card as of now where a world can hold yellow goods, but does NOT contain the "ALIEN" keyword







Denell wrote:
cferejohn wrote:


Contact Specialist also does not work with alien worlds (I call that one out because it has a lot of text on it (relatively speaking) and can be confusing).


I've rarely used this card. I guess the reason appears to be to keep my options open. There's been many a game where all I could get,(especially early on) was a 1 military cost Windfall world, and I can't tell you how many times that one military world has saved me; or at least kick-started my faction with a wealth of cards harvested often and early enough to keep others from reaping the harvest of my explore. And also it has a lot to do with which start world one gets. If I get a militarily inclined start world, especially, weakly so, (like Epsilon Eridani), I'm not going to mess up that +1 settle mod by selecting anything that would essentially erase it (early on).


It can be tough to judge and make a call about. When I start off with military strength (either as a homeworld, or cards in my hand), I tend to avoid CS and its negative military penalty. It's those "on the fence" situations that make it all the more interesting, and they've gone both ways...

I build CSpec., and that kept me from placing a yellow world. Or placing a military world that I would've gotten for free, which was important b/c I didn't have the cards to pay for all of them via CS.

I build CS, and that let me get in all the military I needed that I wouldn't have been able to otherwise. I build enough military worlds that give me military strength that the net result is, I have even more military strength than I started off with.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.