Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Anachrony» Forums » Rules

Subject: French translation error ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
skipper 2206
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Accordind to this 2 threads :

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/23944571#23944571

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25260695#25260695

you can mix and match resources when you trade with nomads (and some buildings)

BUT.. the french rulebook say :

"Échanger 1 Neutronium contre 2 Titanium ou 2
Plutonium ou 2 Or ; ou vice versa.
• Échanger 2 Titanium ou 2 Plutonium ou 2 Or contre
3 Eaux ; ou vice versa."

( "Exchange 1 Neutronium vs 2 titanium OR 2 Plutonium Or 2 gold; or vice versa.....
Exchange 2 Titanium OR 2 Plutonium OR 2 Gold vs 3 waters ; Or vice versa)

Is there an error in the french translation ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's hard to say that it's an error, given that the English rules read as follows:

rule book wrote:
- Exchange 1 Neutronium to any 2 of Titanium, Uranium, or Gold; or vice versa.
- Exchange any 2 of Titanium, Uranium, or Gold to 3 Water; or vice versa.


Which is open to interpretation, and certainly feels like it could be meant as 2-of-a-single-type.

But it is wrong according to designer clarifications.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
It's hard to say that it's an error, given that the English rules read as follows:

rule book wrote:
- Exchange 1 Neutronium to any 2 of Titanium, Uranium, or Gold; or vice versa.
- Exchange any 2 of Titanium, Uranium, or Gold to 3 Water; or vice versa.


Which is open to interpretation, and certainly feels like it could be meant as 2-of-a-single-type.

But it is wrong according to designer clarifications.


No, it's a translation error.

I agree that it's not overly clear, but the "any" is what defines that you can mix and match.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SpecularRain wrote:
... the "any" is what defines that you can mix and match.


English, and probably any human language, just isn't precise enough to make such a definitive statement. In fact, I can come up with three different reasonable interpretations of the text:

- totally mix and match: treat as if you have a pool of six resources comprising two titanium, two uranium, two gold and take any two cubes.
- same type restriction: choose one of titanium, uranium or gold and take two cubes of that type.
- different type restriction: choose two of titanium, uranium or gold and take one cube of each type.

Now, obviously the meaning here has been clarified, but it absolutely needed the clarification, because all of these interpretations are equally valid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The AirBear
Germany
Frankfurt
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The German rules also do *not* refer to to the fact that it has to be two of the same kind.
So - mix and match...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
skipper 2206
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
SpecularRain wrote:
... the "any" is what defines that you can mix and match.


English, and probably any human language, just isn't precise enough to make such a definitive statement. In fact, I can come up with three different reasonable interpretations of the text:

- totally mix and match: treat as if you have a pool of six resources comprising two titanium, two uranium, two gold and take any two cubes.
- same type restriction: choose one of titanium, uranium or gold and take two cubes of that type.
- different type restriction: choose two of titanium, uranium or gold and take one cube of each type.

Now, obviously the meaning here has been clarified, but it absolutely needed the clarification, because all of these interpretations are equally valid.


to be clear :
in french "echanger 1 neutronium contre 2 or" means what it means !! "exchange 1 neutromnium vs 2 golds"
It's a translation error (misunderstanding rule by the translator)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.