Thumb up
2 Posts

Mr. Madison's War: The Incredible War of 1812» Forums » Rules

Subject: Play of the "Tragedy on Lake Ontario" card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff G.

msg tools
This card is identified as a Reaction and Event card. If played as an Event card, it's easy to understand how it works. But under what circumstances can it be played as a Reaction card? Reaction cards are played to "cancel" or "modify" a movement. I read this to mean that the card would have to be played by the British player in response to an American naval movement that places ships in a Lake Control box. This would be a way of winnowing down an enemy's fleet in connection with a naval move -- just prior to a combat, most likely. But I don't think this would be playable as a "reaction" in response to a movement by American land forces that doesn't involve ships, or any other card play by the US player. Is that the correct understanding?
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gilbert Collins
flag msg tools
Absolutely. This card would effect of course only a naval move. Hence the graphic on the cards and the specific notation of "Lake Ontario". It in no way can be used to modify a land move from say Lower Canada.
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.