Jeff G.

Reisterstown
Maryland
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We can't seem to find anything that squarely addresses this in the Rules, although the Playbook, "Play of the Campaign Card", first paragraph on the top of page 4, says that "A CAMPAIGN card is the only card in the game that allows a player to move two different land forces from two different spaces in the same turn." (Emphasis in the original.) That seems pretty clear, but conceptually, one would think a campaign could involve a land move and a naval move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Global Nomad
Portugal
Barcelona
flag msg tools
The 16th century São João Baptista, also known as Botafogo (Spitfire) was a Portuguese galleon warship considered the most powerful warship in the world at the time.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

The rulebook just states that:

8.71 General Rule: Cards designated as Campaign cards are
the only ones that allow the activation of two different leaders
in the same card play, or allow the activation of one leader and
one single unit from another space.


Id does not say that you can not activate naval units or naval leaders.

The text of the card says that you can activate two leaders OR one leader and one unit.

So yes you can activate a naval leader together with a land based leader.
If you do not have a naval leader you can activate only one naval unit

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gilbert Collins
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
This is correct. With a Campaign Card you often activate one of your land leaders and one of your naval leaders. Very handy.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff G.

Reisterstown
Maryland
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to you both.

And, actually, it occurred to me that the British land offensive against Plattsburgh in the late summer of 1814, paired with the naval attempt to size control of Lake Champlain, would be a historical example of just such a combined land-naval campaign.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.