Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Anachrony» Forums » Rules

Subject: World Council actions: there are 2 hexes that give you access to a blocked action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
BibKamp318
Belgium
Beerse [near Turnhout]
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
World Council has 2 hex spaces and they are both connected with white lines to the 3 actions Build, Recruit and Research. They both allow to take a blocked action.
The right one is simple: pay 1 water and take an action where all action fields are already occupied.
The left one allows you to do 2 things [for 2 water]:
1. Become first player in the next round
2. Take an action where all action fields are already occupied

Interesting choice here: do you wait to take the left spot until Build/Recruit/Research is blocked allowing you to become first player AND take that action via this World Council spot?
Or you rush to become first player but might have to give up on the extra action [as none of the Build/Recruit/Research are blocked].

I assume this is correct.


5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Pratt
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you are correct on both accounts:

The right tile is only usable once all available hexes for your desired action are taken.

The left is always available bit awards nothing more than first player unless the conditions above, for the right hex, are met.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Ardianto
Indonesia
DKI Jakarta - Jakarta Utara
flag msg tools
designer
badge
https://www.facebook.com/gopopnow
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In another perspective, you pay one extra water to be the first player in the next Era. That looks powerful incentives in a very cheap cost.
But of course the thing is, who will have the perfect timing to go into that space first given the situation on the blocked action spaces.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Tuzzi
Italy
Milan
Lombardy
flag msg tools
mbmb
vardamir wrote:
In another perspective, you pay one extra water to be the first player in the next Era. That looks powerful incentives in a very cheap cost.
But of course the thing is, who will have the perfect timing to go into that space first given the situation on the blocked action spaces.


You don't need to pick the perfect timing, since, as Robert pointed out, you can always take the left spot, even if there are no blocked Capital Actions. In that case, you're basically paying 2W "only" to become first player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tootzo wrote:
vardamir wrote:
In another perspective, you pay one extra water to be the first player in the next Era. That looks powerful incentives in a very cheap cost.
But of course the thing is, who will have the perfect timing to go into that space first given the situation on the blocked action spaces.


You don't need to pick the perfect timing, since, as Robert pointed out, you can always take the left spot, even if there are no blocked Capital Actions. In that case, you're basically paying 2W "only" to become first player.


2 Water...and your turn...and a worker...and an Exosuit. It's pretty expensive if you're not getting an action out of it too!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Tuzzi
Italy
Milan
Lombardy
flag msg tools
mbmb
LeonardQuirm wrote:

2 Water...and your turn...and a worker...and an Exosuit. It's pretty expensive if you're not getting an action out of it too!


Sometimes being the first to pick can make the difference between building a superproject / building, getting a worker / resource, or not
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tootzo wrote:
LeonardQuirm wrote:

2 Water...and your turn...and a worker...and an Exosuit. It's pretty expensive if you're not getting an action out of it too!


Sometimes being the first to pick can make the difference between building a superproject / building, getting a worker / resource, or not


Totally - it may be that 2W, turn, worker, and exosuit for just becoming first player is a good trade in the right circumstances. I was just pointing out that saying it cost "2 Water" was a bit of an understatement!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Tuzzi
Italy
Milan
Lombardy
flag msg tools
mbmb
LeonardQuirm wrote:
Tootzo wrote:
LeonardQuirm wrote:

2 Water...and your turn...and a worker...and an Exosuit. It's pretty expensive if you're not getting an action out of it too!


Sometimes being the first to pick can make the difference between building a superproject / building, getting a worker / resource, or not


Totally - it may be that 2W, turn, worker, and exosuit for just becoming first player is a good trade in the right circumstances. I was just pointing out that saying it cost "2 Water" was a bit of an understatement!


Yeah, well, I meant 2W plus any other usual cost for taking an action
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Ardianto
Indonesia
DKI Jakarta - Jakarta Utara
flag msg tools
designer
badge
https://www.facebook.com/gopopnow
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LeonardQuirm wrote:
Tootzo wrote:
vardamir wrote:
In another perspective, you pay one extra water to be the first player in the next Era. That looks powerful incentives in a very cheap cost.
But of course the thing is, who will have the perfect timing to go into that space first given the situation on the blocked action spaces.


You don't need to pick the perfect timing, since, as Robert pointed out, you can always take the left spot, even if there are no blocked Capital Actions. In that case, you're basically paying 2W "only" to become first player.


2 Water...and your turn...and a worker...and an Exosuit. It's pretty expensive if you're not getting an action out of it too!


Hence the idea of perfect timing...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zoltán Dudás
Hungary
flag msg tools
A maybe stupid question: Can both World Council slots be used by anybody?

The way that section in the rulebook was organized and how it also includes mechanic for the first player change, I somehow assumed that the right slot can only be used by First player and the left can be used by others to change the first player.
(Also the icon for World Council contains the 4 player markers with one of them selected as first players gave the impression that this is an action slot for first player)

Re-reading the World Council section makes me wonder though as it does not explicitly mentions any such restriction.

Hoping for a clarification
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There's no such restriction. Anyone can use either slot at any time, including the first player using the first player spot simply to hold on to their position.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James J

Texas
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LeonardQuirm wrote:
There's no such restriction. Anyone can use either slot at any time, including the first player using the first player spot simply to hold on to their position.


Correct about the first player bit, but you cannot choose either spot at any time. The right spot only becomes available when at least one entire column of main actions (science/recruit/construct) is occupied. Only the left spot is available at all times since taking it will always confer first player (even if no other actions can be copied due to spaces still being available). David has confirmed this a couple of times, for example: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1729420/4-player-game-why-w...

The reasoning is that you cannot take up a board space for the sole reason of blocking it. You must be able to perform an action. Taking the right space when all 3 columns below still have spots means you do nothing. But taking the left space always allows you do something (ie, become first player).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Oakley
United States
Brandon
Mississippi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LeonardQuirm wrote:
There's no such restriction. Anyone can use either slot at any time, including the first player using the first player spot simply to hold on to their position.


Almost 100% accurate. The right spot can be used by anyone, but only if they use it to copy the action of a completely blocked capital action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zoltán Dudás
Hungary
flag msg tools
Okay, thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.