Jimmy Pattaya
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the fail conditions is to: "choose and discard an Ally asset you control".

Based on the definition of "control" in the Rules Reference (page 16, 2nd paragraph), it seems to me that the Ally can be discarded from your hand. Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yury M
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In short - No.

A bit longer answer: you are right that cards in your hand are on your control. But you can't do anything with them since they are out of play.
Possible exception is if effect text explicitly states that it address out of play cards (in hand, in discard pile etc)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wallace-Moyer
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
No the ally has to be discarded from play. A similar question has been asked about the card Crypt Chill (Core Set Treachery) which also discards assets from play.

While your control argument is correct, the ruling is based on the "Ability" entry which says:

Rules Reference, pg 2 wrote:

Card abilities only interact with other cards that are in play, unless the ability specifically references an interaction with cards in an out-of-play area


And cards in your hand are considered out of play, even though technically under your control.

Edit: ninja'd by Yury
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.