D SK
United States
New York
NEW YORK
flag msg tools
One of the small recruitment cards lets you recruit the tie fighter pilot.

It says "Place this leader in any system then move up to 4 tie fighters from any system to this system ignoring transport restrictions. If there are Rebel ships resolve a combat.

What happens if the system you move the tie fighters to is the Rebel Base system and he has ships on the base? Does a combat happen which also del facto reveals the rebel ships?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Tarr
United States
Floyds Knobs
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. Only ground troops force the base to be revealed.

The tie fighters would move in, but wouldn't discover anything; all the rebel base units would stay hidden on the rebel base space.
4 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No. It takes ground presence to reveal the base...but it can reveal the base when followed by Intercept Transmission.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Both of the above replies make it clear that it takes Imperial ground troops being moved into a system in order to reveal the Rebel Base. But let's not forget that the Rebel base must also be revealed if the Imperial player gains loyalty in the system, as well.

Anyway, you don't have to take our word for it!... You can find all this very easily on page 12 of the "Learn to Play" book, under the section, "Revealing the Rebel Base".
And for more detail, look under the same heading, except in the "Rules Reference" book, page 11.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witold G
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Avatar
csouth154 wrote:
No. It takes ground presence to reveal the base...but it can reveal the base when followed by Intercept Transmission.


Did you mean Rule by Fear by any chance? Intercept Transmission is the one that says "If successful, the Rebel player draws 8 cards from the probe deck. He gives you all cards belonging to systems that contain an Imperial unit..."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Perf wrote:
csouth154 wrote:
No. It takes ground presence to reveal the base...but it can reveal the base when followed by Intercept Transmission.


Did you mean Rule by Fear by any chance? Intercept Transmission is the one that says "If successful, the Rebel player draws 8 cards from the probe deck. He gives you all cards belonging to systems that contain an Imperial unit..."


Doh...you're absolutely right. I'm honestly not sure what kind of Derp-Fu my mind did, there...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Saro Gumusyan

New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You could also use Oversee Project to plop a ground unit on a remote system the TIEs are scouting.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
All Hail Lelouch
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
Perf wrote:
csouth154 wrote:
No. It takes ground presence to reveal the base...but it can reveal the base when followed by Intercept Transmission.


Did you mean Rule by Fear by any chance? Intercept Transmission is the one that says "If successful, the Rebel player draws 8 cards from the probe deck. He gives you all cards belonging to systems that contain an Imperial unit..."


Doh...you're absolutely right. I'm honestly not sure what kind of Derp-Fu my mind did, there...


I guess if you ended up drawing the rest of the probe cards you would ascertain the rebel base's location through process of elimination. But this still wouldn't technically "reveal the base" and things like RM would still be possible.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.