Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Fury of Dracula (third/fourth edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Several questions after first 2 plays rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter F
msg tools
Yesterday we played the game the first time and even though we watched a rule video and read the rules there were lots of questions and problems. (some came from translation errors on cards of the german version)

1) Lord Godalming has allready 3 item cards and uses his action to get another 2. how does the timing work. do you play it like the train tickets? (you discard 1 item -> now you have 2 -> you draw 1 -> you discard another item -> draw the 2nd and now have 3 items again) ?

2) if the encounter card on a city is face up (for example due to a event card) and a hunter moves into the city, may dracula still ambush him with it? what happens if a 2nd player moves into that city?

3) in the shut up and sit down rules video they mention that if you use a train item you have to go the whole distance. (e.g. you have a white 2 and use the ticket you HAVE to move 2 spaces per train) i cant find anything about it in the rules.

4) during draculas movement step all cards are moved to the right and one location card drops off the board. can you move there in THIS movement step or do you have to wait till the next?


thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
headput1 wrote:
Yesterday we played the game the first time and even though we watched a rule video and read the rules there were lots of questions and problems. (some came from translation errors on cards of the german version)

1) Lord Godalming has allready 3 item cards and uses his action to get another 2. how does the timing work. do you play it like the train tickets? (you discard 1 item -> now you have 2 -> you draw 1 -> you discard another item -> draw the 2nd and now have 3 items again) ?


When drawing items, you draw first and then discard, this is stated in the FAQ

Quote:
Q: What happens if a hunter draws item cards when he is already at his hand limit?
A: After drawing, he immediately discards down to his hand limit.


I take from the use of plural cards in the question that Godalming would draw 2 items and then discard 1 or 2.

Quote:
2) if the encounter card on a city is face up (for example due to a event card) and a hunter moves into the city, may dracula still ambush him with it? what happens if a 2nd player moves into that city?


The reference guide states
Quote:
Dracula may ambush with an encounter card that is already revealed.


If a second hunter entered the city, they could be ambushed if the encounter was still there.

Quote:
3) in the shut up and sit down rules video they mention that if you use a train item you have to go the whole distance. (e.g. you have a white 2 and use the ticket you HAVE to move 2 spaces per train) i cant find anything about it in the rules.


See the reference guide under movement
Quote:
After spending a ticket token, the hunter can move to a city that
is up to a number of railways away from his current location
equal to the number on the spent ticket token


SUSD are wrong if they say you have to move the full amount.

Quote:
4) during draculas movement step all cards are moved to the right and one location card drops off the board. can you move there in THIS movement step or do you have to wait till the next?


Yes you can because sliding the cards happens before placing a new card on the trail.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter F
msg tools
THANKS!!
so you treat items and train tickets differently?

just to clarify it:

if you have 2 train tickets and buy another one, you have to discard 1 first and then get a new 2nd ticket. (this way its a bit of gamble)

if you are at the hand limit of items/events you draw 1 (or 2 in case of the lord) and THEN discard down to you hand limit.

is this right?
its kinda hard to find or vague in the rules :/

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
headput1 wrote:
THANKS!!
so you tread items and train tickets differently?

just to clarify it:

if you have 2 train tickets and buy another one, you have to discard 1 first and then get a new 2nd ticket. (this way its a bit of gamble)

if you are at the hand limit of items/events you draw 1 (or 2 in case of the lord) and THEN discard down to you hand limit.

is this right?
its kinda hard to find or vague in the rules :/



Yes that's right. The case of tickets is specifically covered in the rules and clarified in the case of Godalming in the FAQ, you discard first and then draw. Events are also covered in the rules, you draw first and then discard (although you also have the option to play an event before discarding if the timing is correct but it rarely is). Items don't seem too be covered in the rules but are covered by the FAQ entry I quoted.

Note I refer to the English rules
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter F
msg tools
thanks a lot!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.