philippe lachance
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Playing with RTL

Does a monster spawning in an adjacent space of a knight trigger its guard ability?

Can you use surges when the blue dice shows an X or if you do no damage?

If attacking multiple enemies at the same time, can you use different surge abilities for the dice roll? For example, using plus damage on one creature and plus range for another one?

Can the extra attack given for 2 players game be used at any point during the turn? As in, can you use it, then move, then interact with something for example?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No, spawning is not considered to be moving into or entering a space.
2. Surges cannot used if an attack misses due to an X, insufficient range or other game effects. Surges can be used if an attack that is not a miss deals no damage.
3. Surge abilities usually modify the attack as a whole. Thus, all monsters affected by the attack are affected by surge abilities such +1
.
4. The special attack can be performed during step 3 of the turn (Perform actions). This is before or after one the two regular 2 actions of a hero's turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
philippe lachance
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Thanks a lot Sadgit. For surges, if your attack doesn't have range, could you still use the recover 1 fatigue ability? I understand the X cancel the whole thing so it wouldn't work in that case
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, surges cannot be used if the attack is a miss. Spending a surge to recover a fatigue is like an intrinsic surge ability of every hero and like all other surge abilities cannot be used when the attack misses.

Common reasons for an attack to miss are:
1. Rolling an X in step 2 of the attack.
2. Insufficient range after step 3 (Check range) of the attack.
3. Insufficient surges when adjacent to a monster with shadow causes the attack to miss in step 4 (Spend surges). Although spending surges to recover fatigue and to satisfy shadow are both done in step 4, first a surge must be spend on shadow. If this is not possible or the player decides against it (for whatever reason) the attack is immediately resolved without any further steps.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
philippe lachance
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Very detailed answer, thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that the rule regarding range misses and surges is a reversal of an older ruling. It USED to be that on an attack lacking range, you could spend your surges on anything you wanted. Thematically, I still[ believe that spending surges any way you want on attacks with insufficient range is the best way to go, but if you want to follow FFG current ruling, then the only way to spend surges on attacks with insufficient range is to FIRST give the attack enough range and THEN spend any remaining surges on what you want.

See https://boardgamegeek.com/article/12149251#12149251

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason for that is that surge abilities that increase range can be used in step 3 (check range) of an attack. If after this step, range is insufficient, the attack immediately ends without any further steps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.