Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Battleborn Legacy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules addendum and frequently asked questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Bartlett
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you fully describe how movement is governed when a Hero's "adds" and "deploys" units into and from his army? Can added units move before or after being added or deployed (or both before and after for units that move more than 1)?

Units will always be restricted to their movement points so any units that want to join the main army and continue to move with the army must have 2 movement (knights, elves and race units that moved through their own territory type). Units deployed from the army are also restricted to their movement point capabilities but units from 2 or more neighboring territories can converge and do battle in the same enemy territory. If the hero’s army is full any left-over units are considered provincial units and must battle first.

Explain the same for moving units that load/unload onto/from galleys.

Units can be loaded onto a galley and then unloaded in the same sea zone, units can load and move one sea zone, units can move one sea zone and unload, a galley can use one of their actions to fire 1 volley on an adjacent territory. Galleys can use both actions to move 2 sea zones.

Can I move through an "Enemy" occupied territory to enter a different territory using the 2 move?

The Heroes actually only have 1 movement point at level 1 but as they grow in experience and level up so do their action points. They can use their actions for combat, diplomacy or non-combat movement. At high levels they may attack, use diplomacy and or move through territories they control up to their skill level.

Lord units have 2 movement points but the first movement must be in a territory under the player’s control. Units cannot move through enemy territories, neutral territories, or unoccupied territories without stopping to claim them. Claiming a neutral territory for your realm is considered a combat move. The player will place their coat of arms on the territory to show that it is now under their control.
Knights and Elves can also move 2 as long as the first move is through a territory under the player’s control. Goblins, Orcs and Dwarves get 2 movement points as long as their first move is through their own territory type. For instance the Dwarves get a free movement through the mountains.

Any units that accompany one of these unit types will also gain the additional movement bonus. For example 2 bowmen accompanied by a knight can move 2 as long as the first territory is controlled by the player.

In some cases strategically detaching a Knight or Race units from the main army to attack a different enemy location using their movement capabilities can catch enemies off guard.

If you put an attack marker in a territory and move a hero from one territory and a provincial unit from a different territory, how do we resolve combat? Does the solo unit stay solo, or does it get added to the hero's battleboard.

Any units can be added to the hero's army as long as there is space if not they must fight as provincial units. Provincial units must battle before the army in this case.
In a situation where a player moves into combat from more than one territory with the hero's army and additional provincial units the player can fill any empty spaces in the hero's army all remaining units are considered provincial units and must battle first before the main army battles so in this case there could be more than 1 battle for the same location. The hero army is a highly trained fighting group thus space is limited.

Just to clarify, if two armies from the same player attacked the same place, but there was not enough room in the hero’s army, there would be two separate battles, the first one with the provincial units?

The main hero army is restricted to the spaces available on the battleboard. Any remaining units would be considered provincial units and always fight first. This goes for defensive battles as well.
There will also be times where players have more units than spaces on the provincial side of the battleboard, these units can be stacked but do not gain additional modifiers to their die rolls.

Do provincial units move and fight with a Race Leader? For example, do provincial units moving with a race leader get their movement bonus?

Yes any units moving with a Race Lord gain the movement capabilities of the Lord. Units moving with level 2+ Heroes, Race Lords, Race Units or Knights will receive bonus movement. Elves get bonus movement through any terrain type under the players control while other race units will gain an additional move through their specific terrain.
If an enemy resides in the territory a battle must take place. Players may fight their own race ally armies if they don’t wish to use diplomacy.

Can players attack with provincial units by themselves or can you only attack with a lord or hero present?

Provincial forces can act on their own and engage enemy forces, capture unoccupied territories and or make non-combat moves to help garrison weakly defended areas on the map. Winning these skirmishes will be necessary to solidify provinces and perhaps gain an invaluable Red discovery.
Players must declare all their attacks with attack markers and which units will be attacking. That being said, the player may decide not to follow through with an attack if things go poorly on previous engagements.
Players that attack with a ranked 2 or higher hero need to show all proposed attacks by the hero but the hero does not need to follow through with all of them.
Once an attack is declared and discovery cards are played the attacker must remain for one full round of combat.

Does moving through the portal take one move, or none?
Rules don't say how you determine where you go if you fail a portal roll.


Movement through the portal is considered 1 movement action. If the portal roll is a fail then the units will move to the portal location that was not chosen. Therefore if the units wanted to move to the dragon lair they would instead move to the ruins on the other side of the board and vice versa.

Does one player do BOTH combat and non-combat diplomacy before the next player, or is it all players do combat, then all players do diplomacy?

Each player will perform all of their combat/diplomacy, non-combat, collect discovery cards, deploy new units, collect gold and resources and update hero/victory tracks in turn order. This is important because a player gets a chance to bolster their stronghold and or newly conquered strongholds or undead ruins before the next players turn.

After the ranged volley at the beginning, do archers also count as melee attackers in combat?

During the first round of combat ranged units get a volley first strike ranged attack and destroyed units are removed, they will not fire again during the first round melee attacks but every round thereafter all ranged and melee will roll simultaneously.

Unit Colors and Attack/Defense Dice

A regiment is a group of similar or like units that have a specific color on the corners of the unit piece. Green unit types such as Elves and bowmen will go on the Green spaces on the Battleboard, either on the main army side if they accompany the hero or the provincial side if they are defending a territory without the hero present. Other regiments such as swordsmen, orcs and dwarves are melee types and have red corners. Skirmisher regiments have yellow corners such as pikemen, goblins and artisans. Unique units have blue corners such as race lords, knights and siege engines. Heroes always roll black dice.

So for example if you were fighting with Towbak and his forces consisted of 2 bowmen, 1 dwarf, 1 pikeman and 1 artisan you would roll:

1 Green d12 for the bowmen with +1 to the roll
1 Red d12 for the dwarf
1 Yellow d12 with +1 to the roll for the pikeman and artisan
1 Black d12 for Towbak

All rolls need to equal or exceed the attack or defense number associated with the strongest unit in the regiment, the lower the attack/defense numbers on the unit the better. For example Goblins are the strongest skirmisher units followed by pikemen then finally artisans so the goblin will be the first Yellow skirmisher unit in the regiment and used to determine hits.

One other item to note is the casualty matrix determines what units are hit. You will find that unique units and heroes are the most difficult units to hit while skirmishers are the most likely to be targeted.

In combat, if I have 2 swordsman do I roll 2 dice (1 for each), or just 1 for the category? This wasn't particularly clear in the rules.

In combat if the player has multiple units in a regiment they only roll 1 d12 but they will get a bonus modifier to their roll depending on the number of support units. The battleboards will indicate the additional bonuses to the die roll.

In combat, if the above question says you only roll 1 dice per category, what happens if you have 2 units with different stats (for example a human swordsman and an undead swordsman from Solenger’s power)?

Players always refer to the units with the best (lowest stat) and add any bonus modifiers. In the case where they player may have siege weapons and knights they must determine which is the primary unit and the other is used for support. (The player will most likely select the siege unit as the primary because it will damage or destroy 2 units per hit.) However a Race Lord or Champion in the primary position will hit much more frequently.

During a battle when Discovery cards are revealed what is the order in which they must be revealed? Does the attacker need to reveal theirs first? If I'm the defender I might want to see what the attacker is playing before I decide if which of my cards I might use.

Technically the attacker and defender reveal cards at the same time before the battle begins. This might be a table ruling in some cases however, for example the defender must play Wall of Flesh and Bone after attack markers are placed but before any battles begin.

There is no limit to the cards played in a battle but specific red battle cards can only be played in a battle the player is participating in.

On the casualty result chart, which player decides which unit type is eliminated from a particular regiment (assuming there is more than one unit type in that regiment)?

The defender will always get to choose which unit they must remove from a regiment. There will be cases when they have to make a tough decision to remove perhaps an artisan over a pikeman or goblin that are stronger fighters, etc.

When using a catapult in a round after the first round of combat, does its attack still hit 2 units if it hits?

Yes catapults always hit twice, it could be walls of a stronghold, multiple units or a single unit that has more than 1 hp. When well protected they are an extremely tough weapon in a fight.


If I have a catapult and knight in my army can I use the catapult in the first round as the front unit in the regiment, then switch them for the 2nd round?

During a battle you must declare which unit is the primary unit in the regiment and all other units in the regiment are support units. The catapult and knight cannot both make attacks, essentially the knights are protecting the catapults as they are raining death on your enemy or vice versa.

If my army has a full regiment and there is a provincial force with more units of the regiment type, can they add beyond the +2/+3 max bonus shown on the army card?

No any additional units outside the main army are considered provincial units. The maximum bonus to die rolls are indicated on the battleboards with no additional bonuses for additional units. All provincial units must fight before the main army battles, if units are joining the battle from several territories they may join the main army if space is available.

Similarly the area for placing provincial forces in a combat only has enough room for a limited number of each regiment type, what happens when there are more units than this, can I get a +5 bonus to a roll if I have 6 of that type of unit?

You can stack provincial units if you have more than the space provided on the battleboard, but the bonuses are capped and indicated on the battleboards. Any additional units will not improve the modifier.

How do heroes participate in combat? We assumed they just rolled one d12 with the stats listed on their card, but it wasn't very specific.

That is correct they roll a black D12 however players need to pay attention to their abilities. For instance Zandeef is a ranged unit, Argana uses her assassin skills etc. Heroes will also gain additional skills and abilities as they win battles and acquire blue discovery cards.

Do you roll the combat matrix if there is only one enemy in a space? What happens if your roll on the combat matrix lands on an enemy unit type that your enemy doesn't have? NOTE: We finally found the sentence on the bottom of the Casualty Matrix card, but this could probably be further defined in the rules.

If there is only one enemy unit there is no need to roll to see what unit has been hit. If a hit was scored and no units of that type are in the battle the defender always gets to choose from the remaining units in the battle.

Is there a limit to the number of Red Discovery Cards that can be used on a single battle?

Players can play multiple discovery cards to help secure a victory. All cards are played at the beginning of battle. If the defender plays Flesh and Bone it needs to be announced after the attacker has declared all attack moves and before any battles with the defender begin.

How can I attack a Galley with land units to prevent the Galley to attack my territories? I can't actually sent the troops to the sea field, can I? Can only range units attack it?

Galleys only get 1 ranged volley attack and then they are finished with combat. Land units cannot attack a galley.

What if units are on the privateer ship and you can't spend 2 Gold. Will the units get thrown in the sea and drown to death?

Yes they will be fish food for the Kraken.

Can a player that does not have a stronghold adjacent to a sea territory purchase galleys? The following text from the manual sounds more narrative than an actual rule: "If the Players Stronghold is not adjacent to a sea zone Privateers can be hired and rendezvous in any sea zone." Does this mean they cannot purchase a galley, or does it mean they can purchase a galley, and it is placed in any sea zone they want?

Players that do not have a stronghold adjacent to a sea zone cannot purchase a galley but can hire a Privateer for 2 GP per turn. This merc ship is expensive but maybe worth the while to get an artisan to a high producing island. The other alternative is to build a 2nd stronghold adjacent to a sea zone.

Does the dragon "steal" a gem or gold piece from a location that doesn't have player pieces? If so, I assume it comes from the stock?

The dragon in theory only steals from the realms of the players and in the early game may be a non-factor but this can be a table rule to make things interesting if you want to sweeten the pot with 1 gold piece from the stock. Nonetheless the dragon will advance in level regardless of stealing from players or not.

Combat: Is the limit 1 weapon AND 1 armor card in a combat, or 1 total?

Heroes can use 1 weapon, 1 armor and all other non-armor/weapon pieces available to them.

Healing: Is there a limit of 1 heal (1 GP) per turn for a hero?

Yes heroes can only heal a maximum of 1 per turn, however strongholds can be fully rebuilt. Each turn is roughly 1 year in the fantasy world.

Can a player only spend 1 GP to heal EITHER a hero OR a Race Lord?

No both the Lord and Hero can be healed during the same turn if both have suffered wounds, but it will cost 1 GP for each.

Can you attack an island with more than 3 units? If so, and win, does the attacker kill off units in excess of 3?

If the attacker has more than 3 units they must determine which 3 units battle while the rest remain on the galley. If the attacker loses the battle they can continue to attack with any remaining units onboard.

When in a turn do Dwarves collect their gem?

The Dwarves will collect the additional gem during the collect resource phase of their turn. This should have been stated better in the rules.

We ruled that you could drop an artisan from the battleboard, and the hero could then perform an attack. This wasn't super clear in the rules, as the non-combat movement section also describes provincial movement.

That's correct units can be deployed from the main army to move as provincial forces. Players can also gather units and strengthen their army however movement restrictions apply depending on how and when the units were added to the army and the hero’s level.

The rules for the cataclysm event "the first player
either places the Cataclysmic Event Marker on the first
space on the Cataclysmic Event Track, or moves it one
space down." aren't 100% clear. It could read 'on the first turn, the token is placed on dragon raid and then moved down every subsequent turn'.

Agreed the wording should have been less confusing. Your understanding is correct.

Are the winning conditions listed in the rules? I only saw that if one player controls all the territories of one rune type they win the game immediately.

The victory condition is set by players at the beginning of the game. Refer to the bottom of page 1 in the rulebook. The best way to earn victory points is through conquest (claiming provinces), but points can also be earned by slaying the dragon, killing other heroes and completing quests.

Specific Card explanations

Crossbow of Accuracy (Blue Discovery Card / Artifact): The text says that the weapon may be chosen "once" at the beginning of the battle to directly aim at a specific target and the hero gets +1 for att/def "rolls".
-> Although it's written "rolls", I assume that this weapon may only be used once per battle (only at the beginning) and "rolls" just means one attack roll or one defense (if he is at the defending army). All rolls after the first one are standard attacks but +1, correct?


Crossbow of Accuracy - Fired during the first round of combat with other ranged units as a volley, target is chosen with +1 to die roll. The hero drops the crossbow considering that it takes too long to rearm it and uses their normal weapon for all remaining rounds. If the hero is level 2 or 3 fighting in multiple engagements they may use the crossbow once for each battle.

Gauntlets of Swiftness (blue Discovery Card / Artifact): Hero gets one additional attack per combat round: I would just give him a second die, correct? Or is it important that he rerolls the one die after the battle calculation of the first roll? (Hero might be dead after the first roll and then wouldn't have a second roll.


The Gauntlets allow the hero to gain 1 additional attack per round so yes the hero gains an additional die to roll. For Argana or a hero going berserk that could mean 3 attack dice being rolled.

Chainmail of Defiant (Blue Discovery Card / Artifact): The armor may inflict damage to opponents if Magic (scroll) is rolled on the Battleborn Legacy die. AND the hero gets +1 attack / defense.
--> How is the first part meant? Does the BBL roll of the first player at the beginning of the round count or do I roll a BBL die each time the hero attacks and additionally to this possible damage, the hero gets +1 on his attack/defense rolls?


Chainmail of the Defiant - A hero wearing this armor will gain +1 to all attack/Def rolls. If the hero is hit in combat roll the BBL die to see if the armor discharges causing damage to a random enemy unit.

Sword of the Slayer (Blue Discovery Card / Artifact): Do I have to roll the BBL die with the attack or does the roll of the first player at the beginning of the round count?

Sword of the Slayer - +1 to attack/defense rolls. If the hero hits with the sword roll the BBL die, if crossed swords are rolled, 1 additional unit is wounded or slayed.

Flesh and Bones (Red Discovery Card): your units repel all attacks from one opposing player this turn. This card can only be played in response to an attack "made" against you. When exactly may I / do I have to play this? May I wait until the attack "was made" or directly when it was declared? Reason: When I fight the battle and win, I don't play this, when I lose, I play this. ^^

The Wall of Flesh and Bone should be played after an enemy player has placed all attack markers. Any attacks that were intended against you are repelled before the battles even begin.

Deserters (Red Discovery Card): 2 units flee the battlefield. Are they actually "dead / lost" then or will they return after the battle? If they return, what if their land was lost? Do they just run to an adjacent territory that the player of these unit owns? What if he doesn't own an adjacent territory?

Deserters are returned to the territory from which they started the attack from if played on the attacker. If they are defenders move the deserters to an adjacent territory the player controls. If the defender does not control any adjacent territories the deserters are destroyed.

Instigate War (Red Discovery Card): Choose a territory with 2 or less units and attack with them. This is the hardest card for me, I totally don't understand it. Does it mean that I may choose two enemy units and they now belong to me? Then their territory also belongs to me and when I win the attack on the other territory, it also belongs to me. Kind of a overpowered card, I hope I misunderstand it?

Your spies have caused a revolt in a territory, it cannot be a territory with a (stronghold) and must have 2 or 1 regular unit types...not unique or named units such as lords, knights and siege. Attack a neighboring territory with the units. Neither the units nor the territories involved in the battle are yours. This card is typically played behind enemy lines where territories are lightly defended or artisans are working.

Diplomacy and open resource trade with other players throughout the game is encouraged.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Bartlett
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Please ask if you have other game play questions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.