aka bata
msg tools
Hi all,
I have some clarification issues with these two civ...
-Egyptian: does the free building ability counts as a city action?
-Greek: does keeping trade works with rationalism during the start of turn?
-Greek: does keeping trade works if another player learns the same tech during the same turn/phase?
- With rationalism, do you keep trade with gold coin when you learn a tech during the start of turn?
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Russell
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
> -Egyptian: does the free building ability counts as a city action?

No, the ability simply means you don't need to worry about the number of hammers.

> -Greek: does keeping trade works with rationalism during the start of turn?

No, it only applies to Researching in the Research phase. The Start-Of-Turn ability of Rationalism is not the same thing.

> -Greek: does keeping trade works if another player learns the same tech during the same turn/phase?

You lose the trade if another player learns the same tech as you that turn/phase

> - With rationalism, do you keep trade with gold coin when you learn a tech during the start of turn?

No, you have to deduct exactly six or eleven. Note that unlike the Research phase, you aren't required to deduct any more that. If you are at 14 trade in the Start-Of-Turn phase, and you use rationalism to learn a level 1 tech, you only turn the dial down to 8 no matter how much gold you have.

Note that you may use rationalism to learn one level 1 tech and one level 2 tech in the same start-of-turn phase if you have enough trade (17).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Hejtman
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
mb
Egyptian´s free building ability counts as a city action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Grunthal
msg tools
In general, you should pay attention to the difference between "researching" a new tech and "learning" a new tech. "Researching" occurs during Research Phase. "Learning" results from culture events, Rationalism, hut token, Notre Dame wonder, Education tech. (The Russian civ sheet and Statue of Liberty wonder say "research", but i imagine those are mistakes and should be changed.)


Egypt: If Egypt has Engineering tech, she can NOT combine her free build and her Engineering ability to build two things in one city. Her Engineering ability can only be used in a city where she's spending the hammers to build two things.

Optional variant for Egypt (from "Official and Unofficial Rules And Clarifications"):
-Egypt's wonders cannot be obsoleted.

(In my opinion, that leaves Egypt overpowered, so I propose this:
Egypt's starting wonder cannot be obsoleted by Monarchy, but it can be obsoleted by Gunpowder. If Egypt builds additional wonders, they can be obsoleted by either Monarchy or Gunpowder.)


Greece: Recommended variant (because Greece is overpowered). Greece never keeps her trade when she researches or learns a tech. Instead, she gets one culture token for each player who:
A. Doesn't know the tech...
B. ...and isn't simultaneously researching/learning the tech.


Arabs: Recommended variant (because Arabs are overpowered).
Receive 1 culture token when spending a resource (instead of 2).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.