Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Infinite Retreating rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nemeja Leoric
msg tools
Today we played our first game of Rebellion and we ended up in a situation where the Empire had fleets in three systems close to the Rebell base.

Rebell player relocated base but had to leave his troops behind, First fleet attacks rebells and manages to take out the shields and ion cannon. After the acompanying Star Destroyer is destroyed the Rebell fleet+army retreats into the next system. There it's attacked by a second(bigger) fleet and combat starts again. They retreat after the first combat phase. Third fleet attacks it again and once again after the first combat phase the Rebell fleet flees.

Can a player flee with the same "leader" (since he retreats with the fleet) over and over? Are Empire players meant to spread themselves thin to net in a Rebel army before attempting to destroy it? Wouldn't that make it almost impossible to do before the Rebelse relocated the base?

Rules specifically state that troops can't be activated multiple times to travel multiple systems (can't activate troops/systems in a system with a leader), but are Rebels meant to be able to travel and move their troops this far when retreating? Kinda doesn't make sense.

PS Does this mean that if you do a mission with a leader in a zone where you have troops you can't activate them afterwards?

Thx fellas, sorry for spelling
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The situation you described sounds legal. The rules for retreating are that you must retreat to a system that has your units or loyalty if possible, you cannot retreat to a system that contains enemy units, you cannot retreat to any system that attacking units moved from, and you cannot retreat to the base space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Lotinja wrote:
PS Does this mean that if you do a mission with a leader in a zone where you have troops you can't activate them afterwards?


Just to clear up the terminology, you don't activate units, you activate a system. Activating a system allows you to move units from adjacent systems into that system, but you may not move units out of a system containing one of your uncaptured leaders.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niall Smyth
Japan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lotinja wrote:
Today we played our first game of Rebellion and we ended up in a situation where the Empire had fleets in three systems close to the Rebell base.

Rebell player relocated base but had to leave his troops behind, First fleet attacks rebells and manages to take out the shields and ion cannon. After the acompanying Star Destroyer is destroyed the Rebell fleet+army retreats into the next system. There it's attacked by a second(bigger) fleet and combat starts again. They retreat after the first combat phase. Third fleet attacks it again and once again after the first combat phase the Rebell fleet flees.

Can a player flee with the same "leader" (since he retreats with the fleet) over and over? Are Empire players meant to spread themselves thin to net in a Rebel army before attempting to destroy it? Wouldn't that make it almost impossible to do before the Rebelse relocated the base?

Rules specifically state that troops can't be activated multiple times to travel multiple systems (can't activate troops/systems in a system with a leader), but are Rebels meant to be able to travel and move their troops this far when retreating? Kinda doesn't make sense.

PS Does this mean that if you do a mission with a leader in a zone where you have troops you can't activate them afterwards?

Thx fellas, sorry for spelling


I think this is you falling for the Rebel player's wild goose chase, sorry to say. If his fleet is facing superior odds, let it be, and find the new base, which of course is now empty and easy to take.

One of the challenges for the Imperials is needing to keep spread out enough to win the game, while staying strong enough in each area to threaten local Rebel forces.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nemeja Leoric
msg tools
Thx for clearing it up guys!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jooice ZP
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
poshniallo wrote:
Lotinja wrote:
Today we played our first game of Rebellion and we ended up in a situation where the Empire had fleets in three systems close to the Rebell base.

Rebell player relocated base but had to leave his troops behind, First fleet attacks rebells and manages to take out the shields and ion cannon. After the acompanying Star Destroyer is destroyed the Rebell fleet+army retreats into the next system. There it's attacked by a second(bigger) fleet and combat starts again. They retreat after the first combat phase. Third fleet attacks it again and once again after the first combat phase the Rebell fleet flees.

Can a player flee with the same "leader" (since he retreats with the fleet) over and over? Are Empire players meant to spread themselves thin to net in a Rebel army before attempting to destroy it? Wouldn't that make it almost impossible to do before the Rebelse relocated the base?

Rules specifically state that troops can't be activated multiple times to travel multiple systems (can't activate troops/systems in a system with a leader), but are Rebels meant to be able to travel and move their troops this far when retreating? Kinda doesn't make sense.

PS Does this mean that if you do a mission with a leader in a zone where you have troops you can't activate them afterwards?

Thx fellas, sorry for spelling


I think this is you falling for the Rebel player's wild goose chase, sorry to say. If his fleet is facing superior odds, let it be, and find the new base, which of course is now empty and easy to take.

One of the challenges for the Imperials is needing to keep spread out enough to win the game, while staying strong enough in each area to threaten local Rebel forces.


I agree. The rebel fleet is not your priority.
However there are a few things you want to be worried about.
1. Is that he doesn't accomplish any objectives with that fleet, winning battles, killing a star destroyer, etc
2. That he doesnt send the units back to baSe

If you attack them once and they have to commit a leader this will block their further movement (and no. 2). Keep in mind that you can retreat before them, so that they wont use your attack to keep moving themselves
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gindlesperger
United States
Shaker Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also keep in mind that retreating is an exploit for the Empire as well--they can move their forces quite a bit further faster by canny use of retreats.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Invictus5000 wrote:
Also keep in mind that retreating is an exploit for the Empire as well--they can move their forces quite a bit further faster by canny use of retreats.


It is so much more rare for the empire not to have a system with loyalty or units available to retreat to, though, and you must do that if possible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gindlesperger
United States
Shaker Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
Invictus5000 wrote:
Also keep in mind that retreating is an exploit for the Empire as well--they can move their forces quite a bit further faster by canny use of retreats.


It is so much more rare for the empire not to have a system with loyalty or units available to retreat to, though, and you must do that if possible.


Truth. That's the canny part, thought!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel van der pol
Netherlands
Leiden
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lotinja wrote:
Today we played our first game of Rebellion and we ended up in a situation where the Empire had fleets in three systems close to the Rebell base.

Rebell player relocated base but had to leave his troops behind, First fleet attacks rebells and manages to take out the shields and ion cannon. After the acompanying Star Destroyer is destroyed the Rebell fleet+army retreats into the next system. There it's attacked by a second(bigger) fleet and combat starts again. They retreat after the first combat phase. Third fleet attacks it again and once again after the first combat phase the Rebell fleet flees.

Can a player flee with the same "leader" (since he retreats with the fleet) over and over? Are Empire players meant to spread themselves thin to net in a Rebel army before attempting to destroy it? Wouldn't that make it almost impossible to do before the Rebelse relocated the base?

Rules specifically state that troops can't be activated multiple times to travel multiple systems (can't activate troops/systems in a system with a leader), but are Rebels meant to be able to travel and move their troops this far when retreating? Kinda doesn't make sense.

PS Does this mean that if you do a mission with a leader in a zone where you have troops you can't activate them afterwards?

Thx fellas, sorry for spelling


1) It is quite legal to retreat units multiple times if they are attacked multiple times. The Empire needs to ensure that the Rebel fleet has no line of retreat if you want to engage them. This can be quite tricky to pull off, so your best bet as the Empire is to engage the Rebels at a system which is very important to hold for the Rebels (Mon Calamari comes to mind).

In the above case, the 2nd and 3d fleets could have been moved first, hemming in the Rebel fleet and engaging it from multiple locations. You cannot retreat to a system with enemy units, nor can you retreat to systems where attacking units originated from.

2) If you do a mission with a leader in system with friendly units, those units will no longer be able to move. It doesn't matter how your leader ended up in the system, once a friendly leader is in that system the units can no longer move by activating a neighboring system.

The same is true if the enemy attempts a mission in that system and you choose to oppose it with a leader of your own. This also places a friendly leader in that system and the result is that those units can no longer move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.