Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
24 Posts

Revolver» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gameplay question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have the game Revolver although I
have not played it yet. I have read
rules and had a question.

I understand you play cards where
The firepower total determines
The winner for that turn at the
Battlefield. The outlaws can play
Up to 3 cards and the law side can
Play as many as they want.

Ok, am I right in assuming that
On the second, third, etc
Turns at that battlefield that
The firepower accumulates each
Turn till either they are
Removed or you move to the
Next "battlefield"?

Thanks

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Heffernan
Canada
Perth
ON
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, cards from previous turns stay in the battlefield. Even when you move to the next battlefield, the cards played previously stay in the old battlefield.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, that part I know.
But I was wondering if the firepower points get added in.

So say in the first turn at the first battlefield,
the outlaw side played a total of 2 points and the law side played
3 points.

Now in turn 2 (at the same battlefield , if the outlaw side plays a firepower card that is 3 and the law played a 2. Would it then be 5-5?

And what happens if there is a tie?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
You can take my game… when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the board!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you count all firepower at the battlefield, even previously played.

If there's a tie, then Colty doesn't take a casualty. McReady needs to have more:
"If the lawmen’s total power is greater than the gang’s at the current battlefield, then the Colty gang player must take a casualty."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks for clarifying it.
I am looking to play it this weekend.
Looks like a fun game.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BTW, was that explained in the rulebook?
I read through it several times and nothing said about adding in the cards from the previous turn.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, if they are still in play, why wouldn't they count?

Under "Attack" on page 7:

"First both players determine their total firepower at their side of the current battlefield."

Note there is no time restriction mentioned, if it's out there, it counts, whether you played it this turn or hypothetically 7 turns ago (play turn 1, lawmen go +3 turns at a 4 turn battlefield).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Heffernan
Canada
Perth
ON
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RMB1013 wrote:
Ok, thanks for clarifying it.
I am looking to play it this weekend.
Looks like a fun game.



It is my absolute favourite 2-player game. Have fun!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You are absolutely right.
I do see it now in the rules. My brain must have not
comprehended it when I read through it.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I will.
Favorite huh?

Over games like Jaipur and Splendor or Lost Cities?
Those are my favorites. I like Wyatt Earp too - which is like playing rummy.

I really can't judge it yet though since I have not even played it.
We have snowstorm tomorrow where I live - and work has been called off - so it might be a game night tonight.

Have you played the expansions or Revolver 2?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Heffernan
Canada
Perth
ON
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I enjoy Splendor a lot, but prefer it with 4 players. Never really enjoyed Lost Cities as the theme seemed tacked on to me.

I own all the expansions and Revolver 2, but have still only used the base game. It's still so fun I've felt no need to alter it with expansions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tell me how you can as the outlaws
Get to the Mexican border
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Destroyer a white chip?
Does that remove one firepower?

Does the Law side have to play a card
If not needed?

Please expplain Manolito:
Kill 2 unless discard 2?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, so the outlaw side can play only
Three firepower cards but that does not
Include one shot or block cards?

I can't see how the outlaw can
Win in this game

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With only base game, Mexican Border wins were around one out of every 20 games, since adding the first expansion, that ratio is somewhere in the 1 in 8 range.

If the gang plays a kill card ("Fire at will boys" for example), you remove one firepower (white chip card) from the lawmen side, which could be anything from 1FP (Bounty Hunter) to 4FP (Provoke Buffalo Stampede). Naturally you'll be removing higher FP cards, it's not even value to kill Bounty Hunters expect with Stick of Dynamite.

Neither side ever has to play a card, gang's plan is to try and bleed out the lawmen cards by making them earn their kills by spending so many cards they'll eventually end up at the mercy of the draw. Only time the gang can be guaranteed to outgun the lawmen is when using Sandstorm, Jackson Clan and 2 Gatling Guns, ideally on the final battlefield (2 Hail of Bullets or 1 GG and 1 HoB can work too if the removal cards for those are gone).

Lawmen deck's Manolito card gives the gang a choice, discard 2 cards from hand or kill off two bandits, basically an avoidable version of the lawmen card Ambush. Due to this card, gang will want to keep 3-4 cards in hand minimum until it's gone or you just have to play them, while the lawmen want to force discards on the gang (Hired 2-Gun Shootists) to get the gang to 0-1 cards and hit them with the Manolito card.

As to gameplay flow, "humble" selfpromotion:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/721971/first-play-play-play...

If you want to follow the flow of the game, just dig out the cards mentioned and play them on the turns listed, should give you an idea how the thing panned out. Should note that was a very early game (1,950+ plays at the moment), so for example, I would NEVER EVER use a Mexican Border cube remover on the first turn. EVER! Same for playing an Apache Scout to Whiskey Canyon, wait until the final turn at Repentance Springs before burning off cards needlessly from hand.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the lengthy explanation.
I will check out that video.

When either side has to lose a card, who
Decides which one to discard if there is a
Choice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
You can take my game… when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the board!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RMB1013 wrote:
Thanks for the lengthy explanation.
I will check out that video.

When either side has to lose a card, who
Decides which one to discard if there is a
Choice?


Be sure to check out the FAQ:
OFFICIAL FAQ
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just one question on your 1,900+ plays.
Who did you get to play that many games with you?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh,so if a card says kill a (picture of a chip) card, you don't remove 1 from the total firepower - you remove one card with a chip on it, even if it is more than 1.

And whoever side is being removed, decides which card (unless there is just one).

Do I got that right?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If no time to hook up with someone, I'll just run a game solo. There is no hidden info in base (1.1 expansion adds Ambush) and little reactionary cards (three in base, one of which is pretty much useless and 2x Lightning Reflexes). Plus, it's a filler, so it doesn't take a whole lot of time, 10-15 minutes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Heffernan
Canada
Perth
ON
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RMB1013 wrote:
Oh,so if a card says kill a (picture of a chip) card, you don't remove 1 from the total firepower - you remove one card with a chip on it, even if it is more than 1.

And whoever side is being removed, decides which card (unless there is just one).

Do I got that right?




Yes, that's right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Why if you are playing as the outlaw side would you ever chose kill two or your guys over discarding 2 cards? Unless you have way more powerful cards. I guess I answered my own question.

But you did that in your gameplay you posted. On Turn 5, which was early in the game.
I was just curious, since I don't know what cards you had left.

What happens if you don't have 2 cards? Do you automatically lose 2 outlaws?

Also, I am still confused as to who choose who dies?
In the rulebook, under attack it states that if the law's power is greater than the Colty gang player must take a casualty.

Are the "one shot cards" different?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RMB1013 wrote:
Why if you are playing as the outlaw side would you ever chose kill two or your guys over discarding 2 cards? Unless you have way more powerful cards. I guess I answered my own question.


Honestly, about the only cards worth keeping, and even these two can be let go (though with gnashing of teeth involved) are Sandstorm and Jackson Clan (Sandy more valuable than JC if you have 3 cards in hand).

Quote:
But you did that in your gameplay you posted. On Turn 5, which was early in the game.
I was just curious, since I don't know what cards you had left.

What happens if you don't have 2 cards? Do you automatically lose 2 outlaws?


Yep, you automatically lose 2 bandits. Looking at my logs, gang burned five cards on the first turn (2 to play Gatling Gun, one for cube remover) and were hit with Hired 2-Gun Shootist also early, very likely they didn't have two cards in hand.

These days, playing those 1FP cards with no abilities for the gang is generally something I try to avoid, unless really stocked up on cards in hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Burns
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks for the explanation.
I hope to give it another try this weekend.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.